PDA

View Full Version : Adobe flash no longer supporting Linux?

Sonoran Desert Rat
September 13th, 2012, 02:16 AM
Hello, I'm a newbie. I just went to install Adobe Flash for Chromium and got this message on the download screen:

NOTE: Adobe Flash Player 11.2 will be the last version to target Linux as a supported platform. Adobe will continue to provide security backports to Flash Player 11.2 for Linux.

Is there a thread about this somewhere? I tried searching and can't find one.

wojox
September 13th, 2012, 02:39 AM
Is there a thread about this somewhere? I tried searching and can't find one.

Oh yes here you go Adobe Abandons Flash on Linux (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1929659)

heminder
September 13th, 2012, 03:09 AM
Meh. Flash is obsolete, with HTML5 supposed to be taking over. Assuming that Google doesn't try to do some shady do-hickery.

eylisian
September 13th, 2012, 03:44 AM
The way Flash videos peg my CPU I'll be a happier person when it finally is replaced.

vexorian
September 13th, 2012, 03:59 AM
We are trying to deprecate it.

As long as flash can't run in iOS and google has a grab over it through pepper, I am gonna say that we have to battle google's power if we want flash to be really deprecated.

Sonoran Desert Rat
September 13th, 2012, 04:08 AM
Oh yes here you go Adobe Abandons Flash on Linux (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1929659)

Thank you. :)

I read that a program called totem works. Is it, or something else, a good substitute?

edit: after reading that thread I'm installing firefox.

cariboo
September 13th, 2012, 04:44 AM
Thank you. :)

I read that a program called totem works. Is it, or something else, a good substitute?

edit: after reading that thread I'm installing firefox.

Flash is still available through the flashplugin-installer available in the repositories, why try to install it by hand?