PDA

View Full Version : Trouble Compiling Kernel Module

Runicode
September 12th, 2012, 03:48 AM
Hello,

I'm completely new to anything outside of windows and I've run into an issue with my first attempt at compiling a kernel module.

I'm working on the latest version of Ubuntu which I downloaded a few nights ago running on a VM.

I get the following error when trying to compile with "make".

"fatal error: linux/module.h no such file or directory compilation terminated"

I'm working off of examples found @ http://tldp.org/LDP/lkmpg/2.6/html/lkmpg.html#AEN40 (http://tldp.org/LDP/lkmpg/2.6/html/lkmpg.html#AEN40)

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Does Ubuntu not come with these headers? If not what do I need to do to install them?

Thanks for your help!
Runicode

Toz
September 12th, 2012, 04:18 AM
Moved to the Packaging and Compiling Programs forum for better visibility.

steeldriver
September 12th, 2012, 04:22 AM
Hello and welcome

I am no expert in this area but I would think you will need at least the linux-headers package for your kernel

sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)If you haven't already set up a suitable build environment then the easy way to get everything is the build-essential meta package

sudo apt-get install build-essentialGood luck!

Bucky Ball
September 12th, 2012, 04:24 AM
Just wondering why you are compiling a kernel. This a big leap in for a newcomer. ;)

Using virtualbox you are given a choice and it makes it easy, no compiling required. You can also just burn a disk as per normal, open virtual box and install the guest OS directly from the disk. Good luck whichever way you go but your current path is probably not the easiest for starters. On the other hand, a good way to start the learning curve and you will definitely learn something, as appears to be the case to this point ...

Have you got Win as the host and you are attempting to install Ubuntu as the guest?

einonm
September 12th, 2012, 10:53 AM