PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Need help tuning xfce/Xubuntu desktop

germanix
September 11th, 2012, 06:24 PM
I am a very happy user of Xubuntu but I would like to change a few things on the desktop. I just can not seem to figure out how to do it.
1. The first problem involves the icons on the desktop. The description below the icons is surrounded by a frame. I would like to remove this frame. I would also like to be able to change the font color of the icon name and change the name/description to something different ?
2. When ever the mouse hovers on any of the launchers on the bottom panel, an information bubble appears explaining what this launcher does. I do not like this, I know what the launcher does and would like to disable this function?
I am new to Xubuntu and have tried all of the settings in the settings-manager but to no avail. Any help/Advice will be appreciated. Thank you.

Dennis N
September 11th, 2012, 09:11 PM
You can fix the desktop icons by editing the file ~/.gtkrc-2.0

Set XfdesktopIconView::label-alpha = 0 for transparency.

My ~/.gtkrc-2.0 file looks like this:

style "xfdesktop-icon-view" {
XfdesktopIconView::label-alpha = 0

base[NORMAL] = "#808080"
base[SELECTED] = "#808080"
base[ACTIVE] = "#808080"

fg[NORMAL] = "#ffffff"
fg[SELECTED] = "#ffffff"
fg[ACTIVE] = "#ffffff"
}
widget_class "*XfdesktopIconView*" style "xfdesktop-icon-view"

You can change the text color with the remaining settings.

You can change the label under the icon by right clicking on the icon and selecting properties. There is a name box you can edit.

To prevent the tooltip appearing, see post #4 below

germanix
September 11th, 2012, 09:57 PM
Thank you Dennis N for your help. I appreciate it. For some reason I cannot edit the name box but I will try out the rest of the tips you provided. Thank you once again and have a nice day.

Dennis N
September 12th, 2012, 01:15 AM