PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] PC just locks when it wants to

TheTopcat
September 10th, 2012, 09:23 PM
Ok sorry if this has been covered but just don't have a clue as to what the fault is apart from the symptoms.

I have a pc with 4gig ram q6600 cpu and I have installed Ubuntu 12.04 and then installed KDE I have added several applications including Compiz and cairo-dock the reason I have brought them up is that I have seen lots of problems with them on forums.

The machine for no reason will just Lock up and the only way is to power down and Power up the machine.

I am a windows user that's moved over to linux so I am new at this, I could do with some advice or help on what I can do to diagnose the problem.

any help would be great
IAN UK

Epodx64
September 10th, 2012, 09:38 PM
Are you overclocking at all? also try running memtest86 to make sure your rams good I had some bad ram that worked most of the time but had strange random problems like lockups and just little errors with things random crashes sometimes kde would just kinda disappear.

Frogs Hair
September 10th, 2012, 10:55 PM
Any reason why you chose Compiz over Kwin for desktop effects ? Kwin is native to KDE and I was wondering if you are having graphics problems or a conflict of some kind.

Epodx64
September 11th, 2012, 06:58 AM
Any reason why you chose Compiz over Kwin for desktop effects ? Kwin is native to KDE and I was wondering if you are having graphics problems or a conflict of some kind.

That's a good point I didn't put Kwin + Compiz together at first glance I'd imagine that might cause some instability.

TheTopcat
September 14th, 2012, 09:51 AM
Thanks for the response not heard of kwin before I will check that out, also I will run the mem test and get back to you all asap.

TheTopcat
September 14th, 2012, 10:40 AM