PDA

View Full Version : DB design and self referencing tables

Kivech
September 6th, 2012, 12:47 PM
Hi all,

I have a question about self referencing tables.

I'm a bit of an old rookie when it comes to programming and I date back from the days that Linux was only just available to the public. I was a programmer myself in those days, but mainly for mainframes and unix systems.

I did my fair share of development and consequently also db design. For this I worked with environments like Oracle and AS400, but others as well.
In those days it was considered, at least in the environment in which I worked, to be a big 'no-no' to create self referencing tables. Performance was one of the main issues, but also problems with potentially creating an unmaintainable system.

In fact, one of the projects I did was to convert a system that was composed of only one table with all data in there, which was self referenced. After my conversion to a relational model, performance had improved drastically. For one search they did not have to go get coffee anymore, waiting for the results, but now they were instant.

My understanding is though, that these days, it has become more common to use self referencing tables. Due to my background I have developed the habit to avoid this practice at all times. Though I am curious to know why one would choose a self referencing table over a relational model with seperate tables using today's technologies.

So why would one choose to use a self referencing table over seperate tables with references?

I'm very curious to hear your opinion.

The Cog
September 6th, 2012, 01:07 PM
I would think it depends on the type of thing that is being referenced. I can imagine for instance that a social club with a table of members (name, join_date etc) might also have columns for spouse or sponsor which reference other rows of the members table.

muteXe
September 6th, 2012, 01:14 PM
In that case I'd have tbl_sponsor table, or something like that.