PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Have Windows 7; Xubuntu 12.04 installer does not see it though.

Jpendragon
September 1st, 2012, 01:47 PM
Sooooo, basically the last four days straight I have devoted (and a couple of my friends have devoted) almost all my time to this problem. I may be a little wordy, but I'm trying to be as specific about my problem as I can. Also, I'm relatively new to Linux and may need instructions on the specific side, rather than vague.

I bought a new computer recently, an HP p7-1234 computer. And I wanted to split the harddrive roughly in half: half for Windows 7 (for Netflix, and any gaming I care to do), and half for Xubuntu (for school, web-browsing, torrents, and for communicating with my school's Macs).

My friend and I try to install xubuntu, but it didn't work. Please don't ask exactly why or how, I don't remember which problem it was at this point. You must understand, I spent the next several days going back and forth, doing one thing to fix a previous problem, that would create 8-9 other problems, and I probably went through about 8 total OS installation sequences in the last three days.

Everything was wiped last night though and then we reinstalled Windows 7. It is finally working. And it is only on a partition that takes up half the drive.

Specifics:
System Reserved -- 100 MB
C: -- 465.66 GB
Unallocated -- 465.76

I want to use the Unallocated space to install grub, xubuntu, and the swap space. But when I run the live USB version of Xubuntu, the installer gets to the step where you select how you want it to be partitioned, and it doesn't have an option for "Install Xubuntu alongside Windows 7." It just has "wipe drive and install Xubuntu" and "something else."
I click something else and it says That my whole drive, all 1000 GB, is free space. Which I know it is not because I am using the windows partition to post this.