PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems with External Hard Drive

emshen
August 30th, 2012, 04:34 PM
Hello All,
I'm brand new to Linux, so please bear with me. I'm having issues with my WD My Book Essential. It seems I've been locked out with some type of Password Lock that I never set. According to WD the only way to recover all my files is to Format the drive, then pay someone to perform a data recovery. I just got the drive and really do not want to invest anymore money. I was hoping I could recover my files using Ubuntu (command line). I'll post some commands below that I think may help. Any suggestions are welcomed, please keep in mind I am new to Linux so you may have to 'dumb' down the responses.
Thanks in advance

***It's listed here in the blkid******
ubuntu:~$ blkid -po udev /dev/sr2
ID_FS_LABEL=WD_Unlocker
ID_FS_LABEL_ENC=WD\x20Unlocker
ID_FS_TYPE=udf
ID_FS_USAGE=filesystem

***Doesn't appear in fdisk*****
ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80000000000 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9726 cylinders, total 156250000 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00051651

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 2048 155203583 77600768 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 155205630 156248063 521217 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 155205632 156248063 521216 82 Linux swap / Solaris

***Does see it here****
ubuntu:~$ sudo lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 1058:1140 Western Digital Technologies, Inc.

***Not listed here either***
ubuntu:~$ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#