PDA

View Full Version : help please,,new to linux i play world of warcraft

shiloamico
August 23rd, 2012, 07:21 PM
i am new to linux but i love it and wont go back to windows,,but i am have trouble i play world of warcraft in the game i have very low fps but in windows i had 80fps i need to fix this i am useing hp g62 ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series ubuntu 10.10,,i need to upgrade my display driver but dont know how i did use the additional drivers and installed the driver it had but it is not working so well,,i have googled this but still cant figure out how to install the driver u download from the ati website if some1 can please help me,,also my computer has 4 gigs of ram and core dual 2 ghz

anewguy
August 23rd, 2012, 07:52 PM
Click on "Ubuntu Forums", then find the gaming and leisure forum and post there. You'll have better luck finding help on games there - and who knows, maybe a new friend in the process.

Cheesemill
August 23rd, 2012, 09:39 PM
I think your first step should be to use a version of Ubuntu that is still supported.

10.10 reached end of life 4 months ago so it no longer receives any support or software updates. This will make it very difficult to get updated versions of Wine and your graphics drivers.

Quackers
August 23rd, 2012, 10:14 PM
Thread moved to Gaming & Leisure forum as this seems to be the appropriate place :-)

Pierrick584
August 24th, 2012, 01:05 AM
I'm pretty sure that driver issue does not have its place in the gaming forum... not like the problem its the game that need to be fixed

thatguruguy
August 24th, 2012, 02:41 AM
I think your first step should be to use a version of Ubuntu that is still supported.

10.10 reached end of life 4 months ago so it no longer receives any support or software updates. This will make it very difficult to get updated versions of Wine and your graphics drivers.