PDA

View Full Version : Signals, Interrupts and all the rest

erupter
August 23rd, 2012, 11:40 AM
Hi guys.
I'm mainly an embedded C programmer, thus I continously make use of hardware interrupts to synchronize different segments of code.
In an embedded device you have some n timer interrupts you can use for all purposes, plus lots of hardware related interrupts (like serial, i2c, adc, and so on).

I've also done my share of windows coding with .NET where interrupts can be created easily as seen fit, those are called events.

Now I'm trying my luck with a moderately complex Unix program.
From what I've understood Unix interrupts are called signals, and are a fixed number predefined in the libraries.
There are two that are free to use (SIGUSR1/2) that I believe are thread (or maybe process?) dependent: that's to say two different applications are allowed both to use SIGUSR1 without interfering.
At least this is what I've understood, and it may well be wrong.

So how do I get back the same flexibility I have under windows or even under embedded?
Right now I had all sorts of problems using SIGALRM (http://cboard.cprogramming.com/c-programming/150271-puzzled-sigalrm-signal-handler-doesnt-install.html) to make a timeout, until I gave up (the handler wasn't installing and the application did just quit after the signal was issued) and used timer_create() with SIGUSR1.
But this is just the beginning and I think I'll need more ways to send interrupts to my code.
How can I do it?

spjackson
August 23rd, 2012, 02:16 PM
If you are looking for event driven programming, similar to what you might have done in .NET, then in C++ land you have several options. What I am most familiar with is Qt, but there's also the boost signals library among others. and there might be something in C++11 - I don't know. There is new multithreading stuff in C++11, but I don't know if there's anything like you are looking for.