PDA

View Full Version : Using XP as I speak, it aint all that anymore?



ade234uk
June 27th, 2006, 11:56 AM
Ok I got withdrawl becuase I wanted to play SimCity 4 so I installed XP. I have been using Linux full time for about 8 months.

This XP machine has been running for about 2 days and already It unstable as crap. A Yahoo toolbar appeared from nowhere after about an hour, Windows
XP is starting to do the usual freezing crap when you put a cd in that it cannot read properly.

It does not matter how many times you try to end the process it wont lol, you have to wait and wait and wait. In the end you lose your rag and restart.
Thank god there is a thing called XKill in Linux

Shutdown well does not Shutdown like it used too.

Start up time is already slowing. I forgot that you had to wait for things to kick in.

And the c:/ drive is a complete mess. Its out of control. The machine feels like a complete mess.

Oh and I had to downloads codecs, which caused RealPlayer to play .wmv files in technicolour.

Dont worry the Linux box is still happily running as my testing area for php and mysql. Very stable and very quick.

How long before I go back to Linux full time as my main box. Its probably around the corner. I just miss the games.

GoA
June 27th, 2006, 12:00 PM
Are you using ANY security programs and have you been surfing on porno sites downloading this and that? I still cannot understand how people can mess their installation so bad. Don't blame windows, blame the user. ;)

lapsey
June 27th, 2006, 12:04 PM
fruityloops is the only thing i use XP for and even then it's painful: i just lost 3 good tracks, because it decided to crash. consecutively.

i really cannot wait to dump it, but lmms ain't getting any better

rai4shu2
June 27th, 2006, 12:05 PM
SimCity 4 will play in Wine. It's a bit of a pain to install, though.

Kimm
June 27th, 2006, 01:04 PM
fruityloops is the only thing i use XP for and even then it's painful


Have you tried "Wired", its not stable yet, but it looks promising

AlexC_
June 27th, 2006, 01:27 PM
Are you using ANY security programs and have you been surfing on porno sites downloading this and that? I still cannot understand how people can mess their installation so bad. Don't blame windows, blame the user. ;)

Agreed, I don't see how the majority of people comming from Linux->Windows .... **** there install up within 2 days. They must go on some random sites to do that, I mean i've seen people say 'I plug in my network cable and within 5 mins I had a virus!' Yeah, right, of course. I've been running my WinXP box since start of the year, it's not had any viruses or spyware. Linux users just don't want to learn about the 'enemy', that or use common sense.

bruce89
June 27th, 2006, 01:36 PM
Agreed, I don't see how the majority of people comming from Linux->Windows .... **** there install up within 2 days. They must go on some random sites to do that, I mean i've seen people say 'I plug in my network cable and within 5 mins I had a virus!'
I reinstalled once (XPSP1), and didn't bother with a firewall (not on by defualt), so I was going to get one off the 'net, and it had about 5 viruses at the next reboot. I didn't think a few minutes would matter. And no, I only went to Zonealarm's site. I must stress that the firewall in XPSP1 is off by default.

So yes, this can happen.

AlexC_
June 27th, 2006, 01:47 PM
Dude, I don't even have a firewall yet I know I am safe ( Well, apart from my router ones - which are good ). You seriously must be doing something to get 5 viruses at the next reboot!

loell
June 27th, 2006, 02:04 PM
i've had that kind of expirience 11 months ago...

yaztromo
June 27th, 2006, 02:05 PM
My XP machine has been running for years with only spybot installed for protection. It's regularly used by both me and my girlfriend (who likes to install every shareware puzzle game under the sun).

It's still incredibly fast, perfectly stable and requires little to no administration to keep it that way.

Sorry but if you're getting yahoo toolbar, your machines a mess and everythings slowing down then your'e the one to blame not Windows.

And why in the name of all that is good have you installed realplayer (probably the cause of yahoo toolbar) and not realplayer alternative.

MikePnKY
June 27th, 2006, 02:24 PM
Sorry but if you're getting yahoo toolbar, your machines a mess and everythings slowing down then your'e the one to blame not Windows.

And why in the name of all that is good have you installed realplayer (probably the cause of yahoo toolbar) and not realplayer alternative.


No doubt....yaztromo is right, you can get all sorts of lightweight players now days with real media plug-ins. Real networks, as a whole, is a genuine pain in the rumplestilskin!!

mcduck
June 27th, 2006, 03:24 PM
My XP machine has been running for years with only spybot installed for protection. It's regularly used by both me and my girlfriend (who likes to install every shareware puzzle game under the sun).

It's still incredibly fast, perfectly stable and requires little to no administration to keep it that way.

Sorry but if you're getting yahoo toolbar, your machines a mess and everythings slowing down then your'e the one to blame not Windows.

And why in the name of all that is good have you installed realplayer (probably the cause of yahoo toolbar) and not realplayer alternative.
Well, it depends a lot on your internet connection. If you are behind a router or a proxy, you are automaticly a lot safer and firewall isn't that important even with windows. But if you have a straight connection to net you have no hope with windows unless you run a firewall, it's just aqueston of minutes when you get first viruses.. (no need to even open the IE or anything)

bruce89
June 27th, 2006, 04:01 PM
Dude, I don't even have a firewall yet I know I am safe ( Well, apart from my router ones - which are good ). You seriously must be doing something to get 5 viruses at the next reboot!
It was a while ago now, and I didn't have a hardware firewall.

I know what I am talking about, mabye it was 15 minutes actually.

m0gsi
June 27th, 2006, 06:22 PM
Heh i know how you feel , i booted into w2k (fresh install i wanted more space for ubuntu!) service pack 4 , AVG FREE , spyboy s&d and Opera 9.
It crashes randomly , i used the FTP in IE to access my server and it hung for no reason? . I wanted to create another user to share some stuff with another computer and for some reason it wouldn't let me and BTW why do they hide keyboard layout in XP i spent 30mins looking for it. (maybe it's just me?)

OffHand
June 27th, 2006, 07:41 PM
It was a while ago now, and I didn't have a hardware firewall.

I know what I am talking about, mabye it was 15 minutes actually.
Been connecting XP directly to the net for over a year. I had a firewall, av and ad aware. No problems at all.

bruce89
June 27th, 2006, 07:50 PM
Been connecting XP directly to the net for over a year. I had a firewall, av and ad aware. No problems at all.
It's fine with all that, I didn't have any at all at that time, as I didn't have any source for them, except that new install.

eentonig
June 27th, 2006, 08:52 PM
The virusses, I never had any problem. But windows getting a mess and locking up. Definitly true.

Lord Illidan
June 27th, 2006, 09:01 PM
I have no firewall, no antivirus, no antispyware, and ADSL. And guess what, my XP installation hasn't given me any problems on the security front. It's all got to do with what you do on your machine. If you surf dogdy sites, then that's your look out, you probably shouldn't be surfing them in the first place.

I have a few suggestions.

After installation, quickly install Firefox. Ditch Explorer.

Then install Thunderbird.

Then install VLC to handle all your music and video needs.

Then you can rock..

If you download anything, make sure you don't let the installation install any toolbars, etc.

Stability, etc... Well.. It depends on your hardware. XP can be very stable...I've seen it running for weeks without needing a restart.

AlexC_
June 27th, 2006, 09:02 PM
But windows getting a mess and locking up. Definitly true.
If you don't look after it, yes. Just defrag every night ( it takes less than 5 mins for me because I do it every night ), scan every file you download for viruses, run disc cleanup etc etc.

Yes it may bit a bit of a buggeh to do, but i'd rather do that and keep my XP box clean, and because I do that my Windows box is faster than any other Linux distro I have tried ( using same hardware )

bruce89
June 27th, 2006, 09:05 PM
If you surf dogdy sites, then that's your look out, you probably shouldn't be surfing them in the first place.
As I said above, I didn't, I just went straight to Zonealarm It was the first thing I installed. Then it was to be firefox. Anyway, I'm not got going to fuss about it, it was a few years ago now. Also, I bet you have XPSP2, as its firewall is on by default.

Just defrag every night ( it takes less than 5 mins for me because I do it every night ), scan every file you download for viruses, run disc cleanup etc etc.
None of these is needed in Linux. Linux might be "slower" than windows generally, but then the time wasted doing the things above makes up for it.

AlexC_
June 27th, 2006, 09:07 PM
As I said above, I didn't, I just went straight to Zonealarm It was the first thing I installed. Then it was to be firefox. Anyway, I'm not got going to fuss about it, it was a few years ago now. Also, I bet you have XPSP2, as its firewall is on by default.

None of these is needed in Linux.

I have SP2, but with firewall turned off. Agreed none of this is needed on Linux.

Lord Illidan
June 27th, 2006, 09:15 PM
As I said above, I didn't, I just went straight to Zonealarm It was the first thing I installed. Then it was to be firefox. Anyway, I'm not got going to fuss about it, it was a few years ago now. Also, I bet you have XPSP2, as its firewall is on by default..
I have SP2 but firewall turned off. I don't like it.
However, I found I have a hardware router which somehow acts as a firewall, so that could be the reason why no attacks yet. ;)


Defragmenting every night is not required in XP. In fact, you are probably shortening the life of your harddisk. Once every month should be enough.

bruce89
June 27th, 2006, 09:16 PM
However, I found I have a hardware router which somehow acts as a firewall, so that could be the reason why no attacks yet. ;)
Yes, that will be it, I had a boring old winmodem at the time.

oxEz
June 27th, 2006, 11:14 PM
You have to explain something to me. You have only used windows for 2 days and made it crashing? You should ask yourself what's the problem in that case before blaming windows.

I'm been running it (wnidows xp) for a solid 2 months, and it never crashed..

Yes I know it's not as stable as linux, but if you don't use it like an idiot.. it IS stable. Yahoo! toolbars don't install themselves "alone", you have to click 'yes' somewhere..

And no I'm not pro-windows, I'm using it because I need to, for my work (Microsoft Office, everyone at work uses it.), and for my beloved games.

Yes Ubuntu is a nice distribution, but some people don't realize Linux existed before, and act as they know everything, , as windows was the stupidest thing ever invented, while they're actually relying on it...

Sorry if I offended you, but that's what was sitting in my head.

Thanks.

joe_lace
June 27th, 2006, 11:28 PM
Yes I know it's not as stable as linux, but if you don't use it like an idiot.. it IS stable. Yahoo! toolbars don't install themselves "alone", you have to click 'yes' somewhere..


Thanks.Well, toolbars can install on there own I believe, if your security is set too low. But I used my last installation of XP for over a year without virus protection and without spyware protection and the internet connection was always on. The only protection it had was that it was behind an internet router. I download stuff constantly if I want to try it. I usually try to make sure it is from a reputable source. I may have gotten lucky, but the only time Windows crashed on me was when I was just trying to do too much at once. Like when I had 3 or 4 .NET solutions up, multiple IE windows, and MS_Office stuff at the same time. And that happened infrequently. The only reason I am switching completely to Linux is the cost factor. It is too hard to do anything in XP without either pirating or spending an arm and a leg. It feels nice not to be a crook anymore :p That and Linux is fun.

G Morgan
June 28th, 2006, 12:29 AM
And no I'm not pro-windows, I'm using it because I need to, for my work (Microsoft Office, everyone at work uses it.), and for my beloved games.

There is Crossover you know and it works perfectly for Office 2000 at least. Personally I have a Linux VM on my Windows boot if I desperately have to do any serious work there, it can be suspended so I don't have to boot twice and it uses Ubuntu-Server with Fluxbox and yes I use Crossover and install Office in the VM rather than in XP.