PDA

View Full Version : How do you guys get by? Maybe time to give up?

SuperMiguel
August 21st, 2012, 12:01 AM
So im a Computer Engineering student i been using Linux for about 7 years... And i keep getting knock out...

So at school every class i take it requires me to use a windows software, programming classes? Need to use Visual Studio, hardware classes i need to use AVR/Atmel studio, etc, and in most of this classes professor require the student to turn in the project file, not just the program it self... So i keep having to either use a virtual machine or dual boot getting tired atm :( maybe have to give up and start using windows....

timhalo
August 21st, 2012, 03:31 AM
Don't do it!

Just kidding..do whatever it takes to get the immediate priorities done.

So run win as main o/s & run a linux in a vm for the other-than-classwork stuff.

:popcorn:

( I recently formatted and decided not to put m/s on. Now I regret because no video gaming :( Of course thats not a priority. Or is it?!?! )

SuperMiguel
August 21st, 2012, 05:24 PM
Don't do it!

Just kidding..do whatever it takes to get the immediate priorities done.

So run win as main o/s & run a linux in a vm for the other-than-classwork stuff.

:popcorn:

( I recently formatted and decided not to put m/s on. Now I regret because no video gaming :( Of course thats not a priority. Or is it?!?! )

Ya i dont really game, and if i do its on another computer... Biggest problem i have is that i have to use Virtual Studio and Atmel Studio... (Both kinda the same) and some times it uses a bit of hardware, so when running on a VM it slows down a bit...

Also i always get bad battery life on my laptops when using ubuntu maybe bad manegement, but it is always at least 1h less than win

So yes i been thinking about running Win7, as main OS, and ubuntu in VMware workstation for C/python programming

matt_symes
August 21st, 2012, 05:37 PM
Hi