PDA

View Full Version : .exe file created by c programming through gcc compiler isn't executing.

dmp_mech
August 17th, 2012, 07:23 AM
I am new in linux. I am using ubuntu 12.04 LTS. I am writing c program which contains math. I am creating executable file through the command:

gcc -o filename.exe filename.c -lm (compilation)

this will create a filename.exe file. I can now execute it through terminal command:

./filename.exe (execution)

I have laptop. It has ubuntu 11.04. I store files in ntfs partition. These sequence of commands works well in my laptop. But if same file I copy in my desktop's ntfs partition, which is ubuntu 12.04 LTS, and then runs then it doesn't work. It compiles but doesn't executes. I am getting the answer:

bash: ./filename.exe: Permission denied

I searched in internet. They suggested that you can change the permission of file by below command:

chmod u+x filename.exe

But I got same answer: Permission denied. I tried manually through GUI through property --> permission --> checking "allow executing file as program". is not working. It uncheckes automatically. I searched in the internet and I got answer that it is not advisable to change permission for every file each and every time of execution. better you can change permission of entire ntfs partition by following command:

chmod -R 777 /media/partition where partition is ntfs type.

This is supposed to change the partition permission to rw and executable mode. But this is also not solving my problem.

Please help me.
Patadiya Dharmesh M.

Deepak J
August 17th, 2012, 08:40 AM
even i'm a newbie so i don't know much about this permission changing and all those...

But well I know one thing ie. if you are attempting to do some major changes you have to add the command sudo before all the major change causing commands in the command line.

Sudo actually takes the permission to the super user lvl...

If you've tried that too then I'm sorry...