PDA

View Full Version : help choosing a new distro

Kickinthedoor
August 15th, 2012, 11:39 AM
Good morning ubuntu forums! I have been using ubuntu for a few years now and want to try out some other distros. Im looking for something a little more powerfull, any suggestions?

Superpelican12
August 15th, 2012, 11:45 AM
What do you exactly mean with "more powerful"? I think you can accomplish the same with all general purpose distros. The Ubuntu repos certainly have a lot of software (all the software of the Debian project + more). You're surely not going to find a distro with more software in the repos than Ubuntu. Or you have to go compile the software your self and/or use Gentoo or something alike.

Or do you mean something that runs faster? If that's the case you might give Xubuntu or Lubuntu a try.

If you just want to try something totally different than Ubuntu (although still quite userfriendly) you might want to give Fedora or openSUSE a try (I've also done that, I've used Fedora for some time. But after every distro I tried I kept coming back to the same old Ubuntu ;) )

Kickinthedoor
August 15th, 2012, 12:29 PM
"more powerfull" may have been a poor choice of words. What i mean is something for a more advanced user. Dont get me wrong, i absolutly love ubuntu, the only reason i run a dual boot with win 7 is for silverlight so i can watch netflix, otherwise windows is prohibited in my house lol. And somehow i installed the os' backwards and allocated waaay to much room for win 7 so while im getting everything in order i figured i might as well set up another partition and try something new. Maybe ill make a few live cds and see what i like more. Thanks for the sugestions :)

philinux
August 15th, 2012, 12:31 PM
Moved to Cafe.

Kickinthedoor
August 15th, 2012, 12:52 PM
Oops, sorry for posting in the wrong sub. Thanks for moving it

Erik1984
August 15th, 2012, 12:55 PM