PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do you add applications like Terminal to the right click menu?

nezeray
August 10th, 2012, 02:22 PM
I'm new to Unity and miss having Terminal available when I right click on the desktop. Is there an easy way to add applications to that menu?

Thanks!

James / Nezeray

:popcorn:

irv
August 10th, 2012, 02:42 PM
If you are running Ubuntu with Unity and you are referring to the launch area from the Dash, then just run terminal and while it is running right click on the icon in the launch and lock it to the launch. Then when you close the terminal the icon will remain in the launch.

nezeray
August 10th, 2012, 02:52 PM
I've done that. What I mean is when you're actually in the center of a workspace, and right click. You get "Create New Folder", Create New Document"... "Change Desktop Backgroud". I want to be able to open a terminal from there.

I don't want to have to keep going back over to the Launcher to run it. If there's a shortcut key combo that may work too.

James / Nezeray

vasilbelarus
August 10th, 2012, 02:56 PM
If you lock any applycations on Dash(left panel) then you can open them by shortcut key Win+1...9.
Press and held Win and you will see much more shortcuts

vasilbelarus
August 10th, 2012, 02:58 PM
Ctrl+Alt+T for terminal is also awailable by default.

Kalanac
August 10th, 2012, 03:03 PM
With dash you can also hit the superkey (the one typically labelled with the windows logo) and type the name of the application. When it's the first or only option hit enter and it'll run.

irv
August 10th, 2012, 03:05 PM

Agree: this is the best way to do it. This is what I use.

nezeray
August 10th, 2012, 03:08 PM
Thanks! Those suggestions help!

James / Nezeray

Kalanac
August 10th, 2012, 09:51 PM
Don't forget to mark solved :)

bcschmerker
August 11th, 2012, 06:16 AM