PDA

View Full Version : Information is power, but for who?

malform11
August 9th, 2012, 02:24 AM
Linux is the thing. It is the technology. Information, communicatiion, processing....

But for who?
I have self-taught programming for 20 years. Information was availaible to help me learn and use the technology.

Now 2012. You cannot get information at beginner level.

You can pay $1000 per fay for each compartmented lesson. To be able to be a real person with info and control you would have to spend at least $20,000 and be very smart and pay attention because there are no repeats.

Used to be the Catholic church owned the information. To read a book or learn anything required permission from the church.

With Linux, we are moving backwards, into that ideology.......

Bucky Ball
August 9th, 2012, 02:28 AM
How do you explain these forums, then? Have you been to the Absolute Beginner sub-forum?

While I see your point, if computing is a hobby and your career doesn't require you to 'upgrade your skill base' on a regular basis with $1000 courses (generally why they're priced that way as corporations can afford the stupid costs), you can learn as much as you like about Linux without spending a cent. Just start, searching, surfing and asking questions. ;)

Microsoft and others have been doing it forever. Look at upgrading teaching skills (nothing to do with computing). A few days intensive course can cost a few thousand. Why? The education department generally pays, at least in part, not the participants. If it was the participants there would doubtful be a course in the first place.

drs305
August 9th, 2012, 02:29 AM
It's not a support request. I think you are looking for a discussion.

Moved to Community Cafe.

Eiji Takanaka
August 9th, 2012, 02:32 AM
It may be seen as power my friend, but all it really is, is a tool. You can either use that tool to help others, or you can use it to help yourself. Use the hammer to build, or use it to destroy.