PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] What version of ubuntu 12.04 lts to install?

brattz1292
August 8th, 2012, 04:49 PM
I am new to the ubuntu operating system. I tried on my old dell desktop and I am liking it. I want to install it on my laptop but i am not sure what version should i use ( i used the 32bit for my old desktop).
Here is my laptop specs
amd anthlon (tm) dual core 2.2
3GB of ram
64 bit operating system.

i want to use to use it on my laptop because for some reason my windows 7 would crash after 10 mins or so.
Would you suggest dual booting? or just remove the windows

Frogs Hair
August 8th, 2012, 05:46 PM
Hello and Welcome

According to the link 32 bit should work with 3GB of ram .http://howtoubuntu.org/how-to-decide-if-you-should-use-32bit-or-64bit-ubuntu/

If Windows was preinstalled you may want to give some thought to removing it if you don't have a way of restoring it via disk or recovery partition on the hard drive.

As a collage student Windows is a must for me.I also use Windows for gaming which eliminates the need for using Wine to run Windows applications in Ubuntu. Wine runs some applications very well and others simply don't work or run poorly. Dual booting works best for me right now.

If you decide to dual boot I would try and get the Windows problem figured out before proceeding.

stanciugabriel
August 8th, 2012, 06:04 PM
You should use the 32bit version. The 64bit one it's better for multitasking, recognizes a quantity of RAM bigger than 3 GB, but it uses more memory. It's recommended to use it for 4 or more RAM.
But, if you want to upgrade to 4GB, go with the 64bit then.

If you have a smaller ( 160< ) HDD, and you don't need or use Windows apps, then 'kill' the WIndows.
Anyway, if you need Windows-only apps, but you want to get rid of Windows, then get Wine and/or install Windows on a virtual machine ( e.g. VirtualBox ).

TheFu
August 8th, 2012, 06:06 PM