PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] JSP on a Webserver with Ubuntu 12.04 using Apache2 Tomcat7 Java7

overtonemagic
August 7th, 2012, 07:57 PM
Hello there!

Could anybody please help me to get JSP working? I am not a complete idiot, but I've spent three days now trying to figure out how this works, reading countless tutorials and forum discussions which all seem to tell anything completely different. I have been using Ubuntu for about two years now, so I know some basics, but I never dived in really deep, so I'm still feeling quite new to it. Up to now, GNU/Linux has always impressed me positively, but now I know about one of the negative aspects of a system, that is constantly being changed by lots of individuals, while there are more and more components to be added to more and more different distributions. In fact, I have now been gathering lots of informations, but still couldn't make use of them, since I am missing the informations I need for my "special" case, depending on the components I am using, because everything seems to be changed from version to version, and all the directories, files and so on, which seem to be spread randomly anywhere around the system, are different in each case!

This is why I would really appreciate some direct help (no more tutorials) for my case:
I am using the Webserver of a friend, which got Ubuntu 12.04 installed (we control it mainly via remote control), and I have installed Java7 and Tomcat7 out of the repositories. I really don't mind, which components to use, as long as everything works and stays free.

I know a couple of programming languages, but I have almost no experiences in webhosting and no knowledge in Java at all (yet), so please don't expect me to know too much.

I really want to start learning Java as soon as possible. The one who helps me can have my Hello World program for free.

Greetings,
overtonemagic

ubunwhat
August 7th, 2012, 08:45 PM