PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Find pattern, delete lines below and above

Srdjan01
August 6th, 2012, 01:08 PM
Hi,

I am totally new with scripting and could really use help from someone more experienced. I have to create a bash script that would look in particular folder, identify files that contain "P_SGSN_SESSION_MANAGEMENT" in filename. For every one of those files it should find pattern "PAPU_INDEX 36" and delete that pattern (which is in one line) and delete 42 lines above and 144 lines below. Here is part of one file:

MNC 3
SUCC_DEACT_SE_GGSN_RESET 0
FAIL_PDP_ACT_DUE_NO_RESP 0
PAPU_INDEX 36
SUCC_IMPL_DEACT_SE_COLLISIONS 0

I have found another topic about this
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1897438, but couldn't tweak it to fit to what I want.

Thanks,
Srdjan

DarkAmbient
August 6th, 2012, 01:43 PM
Walkthrough for sed:

http://www.grymoire.com/Unix/Sed.html

Vaphell
August 6th, 2012, 06:37 PM
Hi,

I have found another topic about this
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1897438, but couldn't tweak it to fit to what I want.

ed -s input.txt <<< $'g/PAPU_INDEX/-42,+144d\n,p' did't work?

steeldriver
August 6th, 2012, 07:04 PM
modifying Peteris Krumins' one-liner #75 ('delete last 10 lines of file')

sed -e :a -e '$d;N;2,10ba' -e 'P;D'http://www.catonmat.net/blog/sed-one-liners-explained-part-three/

slightly, could you do

sed -e :a -e '/pattern/,+144d;N;2,43ba' -e 'P;D' yourfile(basically it maintains a moving buffer of 43 lines in the pattern space, and deletes it plus the next 144 lines if it matches pattern)

Srdjan01
August 7th, 2012, 08:08 AM
Thanks everyone for your responses, much appreciated.

There are basically 2 different problems here. First one is altering one file by removing the pattern. Code

ed -s input.txt <<< $'g/PAPU_INDEX 36/-42,+144d\n,p' > output.txt

worked fine. Thanks Vaphell.