PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] best DE (or lack thereof) for taking notes without battery drainage

haplorrhine
August 5th, 2012, 05:10 PM
I would enjoy learning to program, but I'm not a programmer, and I just learned about alternative Desktop Environments.

I could make a custom DE just for creating, opening, and altering documents in LibreOffice. However, I read that OpenBox is more lightweight than Compiz-Fusion, and I keep reading that custom DEs require Compiz in some form. Would my battery be better off with Openbox?
Many people use Compiz-Fusion in Gnome or KDE, but it is also possible to use it as a standalone window manager like Openbox. It is a very light environment, compared to Gnome or KDE (but still heavier than Openbox)
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CompizStandaloneI found this too. Would this be my best option?
http://askubuntu.com/questions/23932/how-do-i-replace-the-desktop-by-an-application
Sometimes it may be needed that a user only has access to a certain application. Running the desktop environment then may be unwanted...

This guide has "lightweight" in its title, but it's still relying on compiz.
http://maketecheasier.com/easily-create-a-custom-lightweight-desktop-environment/2010/08/10

Whovian
August 5th, 2012, 06:11 PM
Well Openbox is a good choice or even lxde both use very little battery power an well if you are set on using openbox I believe #!crunchbang linux uses it as its standalone DE.

haplorrhine
August 5th, 2012, 06:45 PM
I've read that LXDE (Lubuntu's desktop environment) doesn't extend battery life very much. Anyway, would it be an option to create a custom DE from LXDE programs and run it from the Ubuntu login screen? Is AbiWord more efficient than LibreOffice when it's running alongside LXDE programs?

I just discovered that my new netbook's battery light doesn't do anything to warn me of low battery, so I'll need to include a program for that.

Whovian
August 6th, 2012, 01:51 AM