PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 'MBR' text shows before boot. how to delete?

akaisuisei
August 5th, 2012, 12:27 PM
Hi i'm a linux novice and

I attempted to dual boot an ubuntu 12.04 with windows 7 on an hp mini 210 netbook

long story short i got messed up with the process and made windows 7 running again to be able to shrink before starting installing ubuntu 12.04 again

below are the codes i tried from this site http://robert.penz.name/221/mini-howto-restore-windows-mbrbootloader-with-linux/

1. Solution

sudo apt-get install syslinux

if the package got installed use following to write the MBR.

sudo dd if=/usr/lib/syslinux/mbr.bin of=/dev/sda

2. Solution

sudo apt-get install mbr

if the package got installed use following to write the MBR.

sudo install-mbr -i n -p D -t 0 /dev/sda

he didnt mentioned to replace sda with the partition to put which is in my case its sda1

the result is an 'MBR' text shows up with blinking cursor below

how can i remove this?

i've used the codes

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=440 count=1

sudo dd if=/dev/zero bs=446 count=1 of=/dev/sda

but no luck

Any help is appreciated

darkod
August 5th, 2012, 12:54 PM
You have to be very careful with those commands.

Did you run the install-mbr on /dev/sda or /dev/sda1? I think /dev/sda is the correct because the bootloader goes to the MBR of the disk (which is only /dev/sda without any number) and not to a partition like /dev/sda1.

So, what is the current status, can win7 boot or not?

coffeecat
August 5th, 2012, 12:59 PM
he didnt mentioned to replace sda with the partition to put which is in my case its sda1

Quite right that he didn't suggest replacing sda with your partition. You will break things if you dd code into the first 440-446 bytes of sda1!

i've used the codes

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=440 count=1

sudo dd if=/dev/zero bs=446 count=1 of=/dev/sda

You've blanked out the mbr with that code.

From an Ubuntu live CD, run this: