PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] How to install themes

SergioMax
August 2nd, 2012, 05:05 AM
I have ubuntu 12.04 and I am trying to install a gtk3 theme but when I try to add the shell extensions for the gnome tweak tool (advance settings) it goes fine on the terminal and seams to install fine but when I click on shell extensions nothing appears therefore I cant activate any themes I have downloaded.

I am a newbie on any lunix os but I want to make this works, so please if anyone know how I can make this work let me know.

thanks

uzumakifahim
August 2nd, 2012, 05:12 AM
Welcome you to the world of Linux and Ubuntu Forum. Here is the link to download lots of themes.

http://gnome-look.org/index.php?xcontentmode=167

Most of the time you'll get installation instruction along with the downloaded package, if not share your problem here.

SergioMax
August 2nd, 2012, 05:22 AM
Thank you, I do know about the website. That is where I downloaded a couple of themes I wanted to try. But like I said before my problem is not about finding themes but the fact that I cant see anything on the shell extensions tab on advance settings (gnome tweak tool). The instructions tell me to use the terminal and type some commands to install the shell extensions option but no matter how many times I restart the computer it never shows anything on the shell extensions tab and that is where I need to go to apply the themes.

uzumakifahim
August 2nd, 2012, 05:36 AM
What desktop environment you are using? Is it Unity or Gnome shell?

SergioMax
August 2nd, 2012, 05:49 AM
Gnome shell

blade4
August 2nd, 2012, 06:04 AM
Try Installing the User-Theme GNOME Shell extension from PPA. For that, simply copy-paste the following commands into Terminal.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:webupd8team/gnome3
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install gnome-shell-extensions-user-theme

Hope this helps

SergioMax
August 2nd, 2012, 06:14 AM