PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with Permission Denied Problem

SweetGAPeach
August 1st, 2012, 08:16 AM
OMG, this is my first time using a Linux operating system. Could someone PLEASE help me with an error. I am trying to launch MicroSoft Word, but I keep getting a message about permission denied. Any tips on how I can get permission granted? Thanks.................:confused:

levlaz
August 1st, 2012, 08:20 AM
Microsoft Word does not work in Ubuntu unless you install it with crossover office.

If you're using Ubuntu there is a program called LibreOffice already installed that has all the same functionality of word and is compatible.

SweetGAPeach
August 1st, 2012, 08:26 AM
Thanks, I used it a few times. However, when I attempt to download Word docs from the internet, the system is asking "What program to open it with"....I have no idea how to find one. And I'm concerned because my Microsoft package was working fine until today..............................

levlaz
August 1st, 2012, 08:31 AM
Thanks, I used it a few times. However, when I attempt to download Word docs from the internet, the system is asking "What program to open it with"....I have no idea how to find one. And I'm concerned because my Microsoft package was working fine until today..............................

Libreoffice should open word documents by default. Try to save them to your downloads folder and open them from there.

I am a little confused that you say word has been working...how is this possible?

How did you install word? Which version of word is it? (2002,2007,2010??)

SweetGAPeach
August 1st, 2012, 08:33 AM
I have Word 2007. I purchased my tower from a local computer store and Word 2007 was already installed.....???

SweetGAPeach
August 1st, 2012, 08:34 AM
I can use Writer, but I prefer Word. I'm an online student and Writer is not one of the supported softwares.......................

levlaz
August 1st, 2012, 08:35 AM
I am very confused lol.