PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Creating an External IP Address

jason328
August 1st, 2012, 05:04 AM
I am completely new to ubuntu server. I've set up my server and installed webmin and openSSH. I can access my server through my own network. However I want to be able to access it with an external ip address outside of my network via the internet. This will be for my own testing purposes. All of that being said, I have had a hard time finding any tutorials on how to set up an external ip address. When I do find any tutorials discussing external ip addresses, I feel like a 3rd grader in a Calculus class. Can anyone point me to a tutorial guide on how to set one up, for the beginner in understanding servers.

cesar98026
August 1st, 2012, 05:56 AM
? at a quick glance. You should be able to go on google and search ip. That will give you your ip address and you can ssh to that :KS Unless you have 2 ssh severs, you will have to change the port on one of them! :P

Hashimi
August 1st, 2012, 06:02 AM
Did you look at this tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-ubuntu-12.04-lts-apache2-bind-dovecot-ispconfig-3

I think that will help you set your IP

papibe
August 1st, 2012, 06:10 AM
Hi jason328.

Take a look at post #2 of this thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2028831&highlight=revision3).

Let us know how it goes.
Regards.

jason328
August 1st, 2012, 06:12 AM
I did that and Putty SSH refused the connection. I also tried it for jokes on a browser and of course the webpage never appeared, showing only connecting... as the title of the tab page.

Will take a look at the tutorials in the morning and return with the results. Thanks for the suggestions.

cesar98026
August 1st, 2012, 06:07 PM
I did that and Putty SSH refused the connection. I also tried it for jokes on a browser and of course the webpage never appeared, showing only connecting... as the title of the tab page.