PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Renaming Trash and Changing Icon

VX967
July 31st, 2012, 05:46 PM
Hey everyone, I'm totally new to Ubuntu and have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. Great introduction. XD

Anyway, I'd like to accomplish a (hopefully) simple task. I'd like to rename the "Trash" to "Toilet," change its icon, replace the "Empty Trash" button text with "Flush Toilet," and when doing so, triggering a sound file of- you guessed it- a toilet flushing. Because why not?

I've looked up how to rename the Trash, and have tried a couple of methods, but none seem to work. The main method I stumbled across was to open the Configuration Editor (gconf-editor), selecting apps/nautilus/desktop, and changing the text string for trash_icon_name. I've already done this, but it doesn't seem to affect anything. It's still called the Trash. Are there other methods of renaming it, or doing any of the other things I listed above?

If it helps, I'm running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.

gifford
July 31st, 2012, 10:14 PM
If I understand your question...this link might help.
http://www.upubuntu.com/2012/07/menulibre-advanced-menu-editor-for.html

Paddy Landau
July 31st, 2012, 11:02 PM
Did you log out and back in after making your changes?

VX967
August 1st, 2012, 12:01 AM
@gifford: I downloaded Menu Libre and took a look at it, but I didn't see anything that lets you access or edit the Trash.

@Paddy Landau: Yep: logged off, logged in, restarted, and the Trash is still called the Trash. No change. Although something seemed suspicious- when accessing the trash_icon_name key via the configuration editor, this information is listed below:

This key has no schema
Key Name: /apps/nautilus/desktop/trash_icon_name
Key Owner: (None)
Short Description: (None)
Long Description: (None)

I feel that it really shouldn't say "(None)" in those fields but... I might be wrong. I'm just starting with Ubuntu, so I've got a lot to learn. Is this information significant at all?

Paddy Landau