PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New installation no boot loader?

aRake
July 28th, 2012, 06:14 PM
Hello, I am having some troubles with a fresh install of Ubuntu 12.04 on my laptop. I'm new to Ubuntu, but eager to learn.

I am installing it so it is the only OS on my laptop. I have had it (this same version, 12.04) installed previously (installed it about 3 months ago), using the exact same CD I am using now, so I know that my hardware is supported and I know that the CD is fine.

I put in the CD to install, and everything works for a while. It is installing, and when at the bottom of the window with the orange progress bar it is at "checking for packages" (or whatever it says), the installer stops and shows the purple screen, saying "please remove installation media, close the tray and push enter". I comply and the computer turns off.

When I turn on the computer again, it goes to a fully black screen with a flashing underscore ( _ ) at the top left. That is all that it does. BIOS is present and functioning on my computer.

Here is fdisk results:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo /sbin/fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00051073

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 2048 960280575 480139264 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 960282622 976771071 8244225 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 960282624 976771071 8244224 82 Linux swap / SolarisI ran a "boot info script" thing that I found in another thread, and here is part of the results:

============================= Boot Info Summary: ===============================

=> No boot loader is installed in the MBR of /dev/sda.

sda1: __________________________________________________ ________________________

File system: ext4
Boot sector type: -
Boot sector info:
Operating System: Ubuntu 12.04 LTS