PDA

View Full Version : Is 12.04 an atempt to move away from the terminal?

zerzu
July 27th, 2012, 02:42 AM
I am a beginner with ubuntu, but I do have a good deal of "understanding" of how most things work but I am puzzled...I am now on day 2 of trying to install/configure 12.04 on my Asus g74sx which contains an nvidia graphics card. After many tedious hours of scouring the internet pulling out my hair trying to re-learn and fumble through command line instructions via terminal i'm now zipping away as I did a fresh install and ran everything I needed to from the "dash home" is ubuntu really getting that simple? Is it now the case that running,installing, etc from the terminal is only done on a "have to" basis? :confused:

angry_johnnie
July 27th, 2012, 03:46 AM
not necessarily. everything is much faster on the terminal. the software center was one of the first things i uninstalled. in the end, it's not about whether you have to use the terminal. it's about choice. i use it, and i wouldn't do things any other way, but that doesn't mean it's the only way.

asking for support in the forums is usually going to get you command line instructions. it's a lot easier to give you some code to copy and paste into a terminal, than to have you click this, click that, scroll down, and so on. not everybody's desktop looks alike. not everybody uses a desktop. the only thing that everyone will have in common is the terminal.

yuvraj23
July 27th, 2012, 03:47 AM
Ubuntu is made for those peoples who just want to have their work done in simplest manner.. They have no Interest or doesn't care about terminals or such things. Look Ubuntu are made for those peoples who have just transacted from windows to Linux. If they will expect only terminal stuffs then they will certainly backoff..

Btw Terminal is still there, and will be always there!

Thankx
Yuvraj

BrokenKingpin
July 27th, 2012, 02:06 PM