PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] NEED HELP FAST!!! cant install ubuntu

jnedenrod
July 21st, 2012, 09:07 PM
i'm using Win7 64-bit
HP laptop

Does the laptop need to be working normally before I can install ubuntu? it turns on and goes to a blue background with a moveable mouse pointer, and that's it.

i got a short dst failed message. i'm not sure if my hard drive isn't working because of a trojan (Norton said it fixed it) or because the laptop took a small bump. i downloaded unetbootin-windows-578 to unpack ubuntu-12.04-desktop-amd64 onto a flash drive. I put the flash drive in my computer and I get the same thing as i did without the ubuntu flash drive--asking to repair or boot normally.

Does the flash drive have to be blank? do i need to put the unpacked files into a folder? i'm good with computers but i'm not an expert on the BIOS. date and time are correct and i put the flash drive as the first bootup option. am i missing something?

With or without ubuntu, will i be able to do anything if i can get my hands on a Win7 boot disk? would that have to be a 64-bit disk?

darkod
July 21st, 2012, 09:24 PM
When running the unetbootin procedure watch out whteher it says the bootloader was installed correctly or not. Sounds like it's not booting from the stick.

In win7, I think it's best not to double click on unetbootin when you start it, but instead to do right-click, Run As Administrator.

Before that, format the stick as FAT32.

PS. If unetbootin continued giving you trouble, try it with universal usb installer. It's free, you can find it on google.

papibe
July 21st, 2012, 09:27 PM
Hi jnedenrod. Welcome to the forums ):P

Sorry to hear that.

A few ideas:

Try going into the BIOS and do the hard disk diagnostic.

Boot into your Windows Restore/Rescue CD and do chkdsk?

Regards.

jnedenrod
July 23rd, 2012, 10:07 PM