PDA

View Full Version : computer programming and Ubuntu

iluvrockii
July 21st, 2012, 05:53 PM
Hey.. I'm changing my major in college to Computer Programming so I'm shopping around for a laptop for school. I'm relatively new to Linux,Ubuntu but I'm enthusiastic about diving right in. Do you think that having a laptop with just the Ubuntu OS will conflict with my programming classes (I'm thinking software or something that won't have me in sync with the teacher or other classmates)? I was thinking of getting a system76 or just wiping away windows on new laptop, but would also consider settling with dual boot if you think that is a better option, thanks.

Bachstelze
July 21st, 2012, 06:01 PM
It depends on the particular school/class. Some are Unix-centered, and you will be fine with just Ubuntu, but some are Windows-cetered, and that might be a problem. You can always run Windows in VirtualBox but that's often unconvenient, so dual-booting might be a better choice.

So basically: ask around to know what the classes are like and which software is used.

TiBaal89
July 21st, 2012, 06:07 PM
I am in Computer Science and all the machines in my department are, nearly all of my professors use, and most of my classmates primarily or exclusively use Linux. Most of those that don't use Macs for the similar command line functionality.

If you're studying programming in general, a Linux machine will be perfect. This is its strong suit.

It is possible that a class is on a subject matter like .NET languages or something that you would need Windows. You would know this well in advance, of course. In general - go for it, it's great fun and familiarity with *nix systems can help advance your programming.

codemaniac
July 21st, 2012, 06:12 PM
It is possible that a class is on a subject matter like .NET languages or something that you would need Windows.