PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Tips For My Partition Scheme?

naathyn
July 20th, 2012, 06:20 AM
Hello everyone. I am sorry if I posted this in the wrong forum. I am still getting used to this. In addition, I am not sure all this information is necessary, but I will provide as much as I can in-case it is.

Computer: HP Pavilion Elite m9510f
Operating System: Dual Boot Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit + Ubuntu 12.0.1 64-bit
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (Yorkfield-4M) 2.3 MHz
Memory: LGA 775 (Socket T) 8.2 GB
Hard Drive: Samsung HD753LJ 700.00 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GS 512 MB
Monitor: Toshiba TV HDMI 1920x1080+60i

I will start off by saying that, unless I am missing a useful partition, I am not really willing to allocate any more space to Ubuntu. I am still very new to this and just trying to learn the ropes. Perhaps once I become more knowledgeable, I will be comfortable with allocating more space to a Linux OS. (Or just buy another hard drive.)

Currently the partition scheme is looking like this:

ntfs: 650G (primary partition)
--- extended partition: 50GB ---
ext4: 5GB (logical partition)
ext3 | /root: 15GB (logical partition)
ext4 | /home: 18GB (logical partition)
swap: 12GB (logical partition)

Now I have a few questions:

In what scenario would I need to make swap a primary partition? I am asking this because Ubuntu's internet browsing is slow. Not the slow like: "Disable all the extensions, get faster internet, more RAM, etc". It's the slow as in it takes forever to simply connect to a site... but it seems once it connects, it loads right up. In Windows, I am not having this problem. Have I given myself too much/little swap? Is the order wrong? Should I make another swap?