PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error message when attempting to install dual-boot of Windows Vista and Ubuntu 12.04

mt123
July 20th, 2012, 06:04 AM
I'm a complete newbie to Linux and Ubuntu so please bear with me.

My goal is to be able to dual-boot Windows Vista and Ubuntu 12.04. I was reading some guides and saw it was recommended to leave 15-20gb of free space for Ubuntu and that's I did (it will be for light use) via Windows disk management. I then created the boot CD for Ubuntu and tried installing through "install Ubuntu alongside Windows Vista" but was given the message "Unable to satisfy all constraints on the partition".

Image of "disk management" on Windows:
http://i45.tinypic.com/hty2v5.jpg

Any thoughts?

sudodus
July 20th, 2012, 07:26 AM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums :-)

I think that Ubuntu should be able to grab that unallocated space. But let us do things systematically.

Can you boot a live session from the Ubuntu CD? I mean, do not try to install at once, instead 'try Ubuntu'. When Ubuntu is up and running, please run the following command

sudo fdisk -lu
and post the output in a reply.

Also please post the specs of your computer: CPU, RAM and graphics card.

-o-

One alternative is to run gparted from your live Ubuntu session, and create an extended partition of the unallocated space, and inside it create two logical partitions.

- If you want Ubuntu to hibernate, make a swap partition a little bigger than your RAM (in GiBibytes). Otherwise 1 GB swap is enough.

- Make an ext4 partition of the rest of the space in the extended partition.

- close gparted

After that you can start to install Ubuntu (and at the partitioning screen select 'something else' to select the ext4 partition for your root partition and install grub to the head of the drive /dev/sda (not to a partition /dev/sda5 or /dev/sda6 ...)

-o-

But, don't rush, the advice will be better if you answer those questions and wait for further instructions :-)

mt123