PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] grub prompt when I try to boot from live CD

webcomm
July 17th, 2012, 11:10 PM
I have a new computer that came with Windows 7. I shrunk the windows partition, added an unformatted partition for ubuntu, and added a big storage partition. I burned the ubuntu iso to a DVD (I don't have a CD handy), and edited the windows boot order so I can boot from the ubuntu iso. But when I select ubuntu from the boot options, I get the grub prompt.

In the past when I have run a live CD on other computers, it has not shown me the grub prompt. Instead it boots up ubuntu directly.

What's my next move?

Thank you

Easy Limits
July 18th, 2012, 01:05 AM
Is your DVD the 32 bit or 64 bit version of Ubuntu?

webcomm
July 18th, 2012, 02:41 PM
It's the 64-bit version. File name: ubuntu-12.04-desktop-amd64.iso

I'm new to Windows 7, and when I burned the disc, I was prompted to decide whether to burn it "like a USB flash drive," or like a CD/DVD. I chose to burn it "like a USB flash drive". I couldn't find any information on the WWW about whether the choice matters for an Ubuntu live CD.

Quackers
July 18th, 2012, 03:27 PM
Try burning the iso file "as an image"

oldfred
July 18th, 2012, 04:52 PM
I did not think CD uses grub to boot for normal BIOS boots. But I do think it uses grub-efi to boot in efi mode.

So is this a very new system using UEFI?
UEFI systems should give two options to boot one UEFI and the other BIOS/AHCI/legacy or whatever.

If first partition is efi or drive is partitioned gpt then you have UEFI and Windows is in efi mode.
But even with UEFI, Windows may still be in BIOS/MBR mode and then Ubuntu would also have to be installed in BIOS/MBR mode.

webcomm
July 18th, 2012, 10:20 PM