PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] cannot see host-ntfs partition

insert20
July 14th, 2012, 02:02 PM
hi guys.. im just new to ubuntu cant seem to find any related topic to mine..

i just recently installed ubuntu 12.04 in my pc alongside with windows 7 and everything seem perfect.. i dual boot on it and its fine...

But i cant see my other partition which is the host partition and it is formatted as ntfs and i can see it if i boot in windows 7..

i tried exploring the file system folder and home but cant see any trace of files from my other partition... it was the partition where i installed ubuntu 12.04 alongside with windows..

i updated my ubuntu and still no results...

i can see my other partition except for the host partition which i only see it everytime i boot to windows 7

please help me thanks guys

Karlchen
July 14th, 2012, 02:43 PM
Hello, insert20.

Are we really talking about a Ubuntu Wubi installation? I.e. the whole Ubuntu installation really lives in a file which is named \ubuntu\disks\root.disk (Windows notation) ?

If this is the case, then open a terminal window.
Inside the terminal window execute the commands
cd /host
ls -alYou should see the content of the appropriate Windows partition.

Kind regards,
Karl

OM55
July 14th, 2012, 05:24 PM
Hello insert20,

If you installed a side-by-side installation (not a Wubi installation), your host NTFS drive(s) are not mounted by default, so initially will not show on your file system.

if you use gnome-fallback-session (classic Gnome menus on Ubuntu 12.04) all you need to do is go to the 'Places' menu and you should see your drive(s) at the bottom of the list. Clicking on the name will mount the drive and open Nautilus at the root of that drive.

You can also mount them manually:

sudo mount <your drive's name> <mount point>- The mount point is an empty folder in your current file system where the mounted drive root will be placed. You can create an empty folder and use that as a mount point.