PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Complete Ubuntu + n00b Installation Problems

geekyomega
July 13th, 2012, 09:38 PM
Hi Forum Readers,

I am completely new to ubuntu, linux, and have been learning terminal commands, but still very basic. I just built a PC with mid-level parts, nothing cutting edge and trying to learn Ubuntu too. In short, I can't get it to install.

This is what I have done:

1. Read the Ubuntu Installation and other material (RTM)
1. Googled my problem
2. Searched this forum

I found a bunch of things about ubuntu commands and things I don't understand. Besides this, they aren't relevant to what I am experiencing.

This is my problem:

1. Installed windows installer on W7 and ran it. When it reboots, I see a black screen with a white flashing underscore line flashing really fast. When I reboot again, it asks me if I want to to boot into Windows 7 or Ubuntu. If I select Ubuntu, it then becomes a big purple screen.

2. I downloaded the Ubuntu iso and burned it onto DVD. I booted into the CD and it showed me some options. I pressed 1. Install Ubuntu and then got a black screen and nothing was happening.

I am so new to Ubuntu and this process I have no idea what could be happening. I suspect it has something to do with hardware (based on my googling) but not sure what could be doing it? I honestly really don't know what is going on.

Here is my build:

CPU: Intel Core i5 2500
RAM: GSkill 8G
Hardrive: WD 1TB HD
Graphics: VGA EVGA 01G-P3-1556 GTX550
Monitor: Acer 23 inch (Two of them plugged into graphics card)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77
DVD-RW: Asus
Wireless Card: Wintec PCI-N (Most generic part in build and temporary)

I really can't even figure out where this is going wrong and what could be causing this? I am not even to a point where I can try to fix this as I can't even get Ubuntu to install and boot right. Please help.

Respectfully,
GeekyOmega

steeldriver
July 13th, 2012, 09:56 PM