PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu noob programming Qs

weresheep
March 15th, 2005, 10:48 PM
Hi all,

First post, be gentle :)

I am interested in doing some graphics programming and am wondering what would be the bast way of doing this on Ubuntu GNU/Linux (or indeed GNU/Linux in general)?

Let me explain a bit.

I am a Software Engineer by profession and know my way around C/C++ but I am fairly new to GNU/Linux. The software I do at work is mainly system software. Back in my University days I took a couple of "computer graphics in C" classes and had a lot of fun making simple drawing programs in DOS.

Ideally, I'd like a simple, lightweight way to pop a window on the screen and then just draw into it using simple primitives. I've had a quick look at GTK+ and it looks quite nice, especially as it fits well with a C style of programming (I prefer C to C++).

Is GTK+ well suited to this sort of task?
If so, how do I go about getting a GTK+ development system on my Ubuntu set up?

Many thanks in advance for any help, advice or pointers. I'd really like to be able to just play around with programming again as opposed to it being 'just' a job.

-weresheep

sas
March 15th, 2005, 11:10 PM
Hi all,

First post, be gentle :)

I am interested in doing some graphics programming and am wondering what would be the bast way of doing this on Ubuntu GNU/Linux (or indeed GNU/Linux in general)?

Let me explain a bit.

I am a Software Engineer by profession and know my way around C/C++ but I am fairly new to GNU/Linux. The software I do at work is mainly system software. Back in my University days I took a couple of "computer graphics in C" classes and had a lot of fun making simple drawing programs in DOS.

Ideally, I'd like a simple, lightweight way to pop a window on the screen and then just draw into it using simple primitives. I've had a quick look at GTK+ and it looks quite nice, especially as it fits well with a C style of programming (I prefer C to C++).