PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Update/upgrade remotely



Penfold1971
July 10th, 2012, 09:31 AM
I'm using Terminal on my iMac to check for any updates/upgrades on my Ubuntu machine.

The commands I use are :

sudo apt-get update

followed by sudo apt-get upgrade

When I go to my Ubu machine to see the results, in the Update Manager window it shows 19 updates have been selected, but clearly not installed.

What further commands should I be using?

(I have Googled, but, as is so often the case, the info is a bit more technically pitched than I understand and I don't want to guess at what to do.)

nothingspecial
July 10th, 2012, 09:44 AM
Click the "check" button in the update manager which will reload your sources.

It should then say "There are no updates to install"

SlugSlug
July 10th, 2012, 09:45 AM
You will have updated the box, but behind update manager's back.

If you close / refresh update manager the updates shown as available will disappear.

Penfold1971
July 10th, 2012, 10:46 AM
Thanks both.

Is there some command then, that will do the equivalent of either :

clicking the 'check' button in the update manager, or

closing/refreshing the update manager ?

I really am very new to this. Eventually I want to be able to remove the monitor, keyboard and mouse on the Ubu machine and let it get on with its sole task - processing Folding@home work units.

SlugSlug
July 10th, 2012, 10:53 AM
You don't really need to but I guess you could


sudo pkill update-manager

To get rid of it after you have ran apt-get commands

Paqman
July 10th, 2012, 12:10 PM
Is there some command then, that will do the equivalent of either :

clicking the 'check' button in the update manager, or

closing/refreshing the update manager ?


Yep:

sudo apt-get update

Your system will periodically check for updates this way anyway, and spawns Update Manager or the little notification icon if it detects that there are updates to install. You can control how often it quietly checks for updates through Software Sources.

Penfold1971
July 10th, 2012, 12:40 PM
Thanks, SlugSlug!

arubislander
July 10th, 2012, 01:23 PM
Not all updates are applied with
$ sudo apt-get upgrade Updates that would require installing new packages, or de´nstalling old ones are skipped. I am guessing that it is these kinds of updates that you are still seeing in the Update Manager.

SlugSlug
July 10th, 2012, 01:28 PM
Not all updates are applied with
$ sudo apt-get upgrade Updates that would require installing new packages, or de´nstalling old ones are skipped. I am guessing that it is these kinds of updates that you are still seeing in the Update Manager.


This is right,

you can
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

This is needed for stuff like kernel updates

Penfold1971
July 10th, 2012, 01:44 PM
Ooops. Maybe I marked the thread as 'Solved' too soon.


you can
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
This is needed for stuff like kernel updates
So, are these the commands, one at a time, that I should use in order to get the full range of any and all updates that are available via Software Manager ? :


sudo apt-get update or should it be ? :
sudo apt-get dist-update

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo pkill update-manager

Why the two commands 'update' and 'upgrade'? Does 'update' see what is available, and 'upgrade' perform the installing?

SlugSlug
July 10th, 2012, 01:53 PM
Ooops. Maybe I marked the thread as 'Solved' too soon.


So, are these the commands, one at a time, that I should use in order to get the full range of any and all updates that are available via Software Manager ? :


sudo apt-get update or should it be ? :
sudo apt-get dist-update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo pkill update-managerWhy the two commands 'update' and 'upgrade'? Does 'update' see what is available, and 'upgrade' perform the installing?


Yes update sees whats there and upgrade grabs them

I wouldn't bother with the kill tbh, if its not got a monitor you wont see it :)

I have a alias in my ~/.bashrc...


alias qq="sudo apt-get update; sudo apt-get dist-upgrade; sudo apt-get autoremove"
so when I log in I just hit qq to update the system :)

Penfold1971
July 10th, 2012, 01:58 PM
So for the first command, the updater, it's just plain
sudo apt-get update and not
sudo apt-get dist-update ?

SlugSlug
July 10th, 2012, 02:00 PM
yer update pulls down the repo lists so apt can check if there is an update for any app, upgrade or dist-upgrade downloads / installs updates that apt is now aware of thanks to the update

if that makes sense? got a bit carried away with the word update :)

Penfold1971
July 10th, 2012, 02:12 PM
Sure, but I'm wondering if it's just plain
sudo apt-get update as opposed to
sudo apt-get dist-update
There's no need for "dist-" in front of "update"?

See how easy it is for a noob to flounder in the dark?:grin:

SlugSlug
July 10th, 2012, 02:21 PM
No, there's no need for dist- in front of update, update just updates the list of available software

Paqman
July 10th, 2012, 02:22 PM
There's no need for "dist-" in front of "update"?


Correct, apt-get dist-upgrade is a completely separate command, you don't just go around sticking dist- on the front of other commands.

Penfold1971
July 10th, 2012, 02:45 PM
Correct, apt-get dist-upgrade is a completely separate command, you don't just go around sticking dist- on the front of other commands.
Cheers.

And one final question just to pin this down, please :

Is the command ... sudo apt-get dist-upgrade ... all-inclusive?

I don't need to do plain ... sudo apt-get upgrade ... as well, do I?

SlugSlug
July 10th, 2012, 02:47 PM
Cheers.

And one final question just to pin this down, please :

Is the command ... sudo apt-get dist-upgrade ... all-inclusive?

I don't need to do plain ... sudo apt-get upgrade ... as well, do I?


Correct :)

Penfold1971
July 10th, 2012, 02:51 PM
Brilliant! Thanks SlugSlug.

Many thanks to verybody for the help.

I think this thread really is 'Solved' now. :lol: