PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Locking icons into Docky

timbo59
July 8th, 2012, 02:37 PM
I'm trying to come to terms with 12.4 after upgrading from 10.4, and part of the issue has been making frequently used programs readily available via the desktop. Aside from Unity, which I find a little tedious, I also wanted to add Docky to the Desktop where I can store my most commonly used apps. I've never used it before on Ubuntu (I use Rocketdock on my Windows-based PC) and have found some kind of glitch to its usage. The only way I can figure to add icons to Docky is to put the necessary icons on to the Desktop, then drag them into Docky. Once done, I then delete them from the Desktop. Unfortunately this method isn't working, because I discovered this morning that all the icons I added yesterday have disappeared from Docky. After a little experimenting this morning I realized that the only way I can make the icons stay in Docky is to keep the original icons on the Desktop itself, which is obviously a little redundant. Is there some step I'm missing, or an alternative way I'm supposed to put the icons in Docky that locks them in place?

Thanks.

irv
July 8th, 2012, 02:47 PM
First, I do not use Docky. Let me ask you, are you using Ubuntu 12.04 with the Unity desktop? if so, then you have the Dash to the left side of the screen. When you open an app it will appear in the dash. If you right mouse click on it you can lock or unlock it from the dash. You can also move it up and down. This allows you to put the apps you use the most to the top of the dash.
I find this much more useful then using Docky.
I know this didn't answer your question, but I thought I would just pass this information on to you.

timbo59
July 8th, 2012, 04:00 PM
No, as I mentioned in my first post, I do have the latest version of Ubuntu on board, as well as Unity loader.