PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Help for installing NVIDIA driver

Balaton
July 6th, 2012, 08:06 PM
Hi,

I've got some problem with installing my video card. I've got a dell Inspiron N5110 (15R) laptop with NVIDIA GeForce GT 525M video card and a basic video card too. I'm a very beginner user of Kubuntu and I don't know how should I install this video card. I read what the webpage of NVIDIA driver wrote, but it doesn't work. Somebody told me because I've got two video card's I have install ironhide, because this program can help by switching between this two cards. But every time I tried, I'v got always some problem. If somebody write me step by step how could I install my video card, I would be very thankful.

Balaton

bogan
July 7th, 2012, 08:47 AM
Hi!, balaton,

Please Post the following run from a terminal [Ctrl+Alt+t].
[Copy/paste to a New Reply Edit box, highlight and press the '#' icon in the tool bar in the top of the box, to enclose in a Code box for easy reading.]
uname -ar
lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 VGA
sudo apt-cache policy nvidia-current
cat /sys/module/nvidia/versionHave you used Additional Drivers or run the nvidia download driver .run file?

What exactly is the problem you need help to cure?

Does it boot up to a GUI and run correctly?

Chao!, bogan.

Balaton
July 7th, 2012, 02:37 PM
Hi bogan,

I did what you write and there are this information's:

tiger@tiger:~$ uname -ar
Linux tiger 3.2.0-26-generic #41-Ubuntu SMP Thu Jun 14 17:49:24 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
tiger@tiger:~$ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0116] (rev 09)
Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:04ca]
Kernel driver in use: i915
--
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 540M] [10de:0df5] (rev a1)
Kernel driver in use: nouveau
tiger@tiger:~$ sudo apt-cache policy nvidia-current
[sudo] password for tiger: