PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Screen Resolution Problem

Febri Ichsan
July 5th, 2012, 09:09 PM
Greetings.

Well since this is my first time using ubuntu, I face so many problems just trying to get used to it.
But the main problem is about screen resolution problem.
When I start an apps, like hedgehog wars, my screen seems to be not big enough for the apps, I can't see the bottom screen at all (i dunno whether it is 'cancel', 'apply', or 'okay' button.
This problem occurs in some apps too.

Sorry for my bad English.
Thanks.

QIII
July 5th, 2012, 09:32 PM
Can you give us some information about your system hardware, drivers you are using, etc?

Febri Ichsan
July 5th, 2012, 11:26 PM
I'm using Asus Eee PC P1015B with AMD Radeon 6310 HD Graphic.
I download the driver automatically using 'additional drivers menu' in system setting.
Should I deactivate my additional driver?

codingman
July 5th, 2012, 11:34 PM
AMD has a big record for these sorts of failures, so therefore this is not a surprise to me. Disable the extra drivers and manually install them from the AMD website.

QIII
July 5th, 2012, 11:38 PM
AMD has no worse a record than NVIDIA for this sort of thing.

The driver from the repo IS a driver from AMD. Installing from AMDs website is more difficult and entirely unnecessary in Ubuntu.

QIII
July 5th, 2012, 11:40 PM
@Febri Ichsan

What have you done to attempt to adjust your resolution?

Which driver did you install? The basic one or the -updates version?

codingman
July 5th, 2012, 11:50 PM
AMD has no worse a record than NVIDIA for this sort of thing.

The driver from the repo IS a driver from AMD. Installing from AMDs website is more difficult and entirely unnecessary in Ubuntu.

Doing it from the AMD site is worth a shot. nVidia has had a better record in drivers in general than AMD. An HP Envy with high spec AMD graphics proves more graphically faulty than an HP with a high spec nVidia.

Febri Ichsan
July 5th, 2012, 11:52 PM
lemme check amd site.