PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu on HPE H8-1300z with GT 620

Orbital_sFear
July 4th, 2012, 05:59 PM
I bought a brand new H8-1300z and it is a bear to install linux on.

My background:
Personally I wouldn't read this paragraph. Before everyone calls me a noob, I want to explain who I am. I'm a professional software developer, primarily working with embedded linux systems for my day job. I first started using linux as my main desktop in 1998 with redhat. I have a masters degree in computer science. I've severed as linux system admin for 3 years in college.

This only works with 32bit:
Keep in mind, I can't get ubuntu 64bit installed because the NVIDIA driver just returns an IO error. I've tried everything from vmalloc settings to custom NVIDIA drivers, nothing seems to work. I'm running this system in 32bit for now, and hoping when ubuntu 12.10 comes out, I'll be able to get 64bit installed.

BIOS Setup:
This HP uses UEFI, luckly it will allow you to use a legacy setting as well. In my boot options I turned of UEFI, and setup my USB CD as the first boot.

Live CD:
Getting the live CD to boot correctly. When the CD is first inserted, you must push escape when the man and keyboard icons show up. Select your language, push F6, select nomodeset. Now you can continue into a normal live cd setup. Make sure you select try ubuntu.

Dont select updates while installing:
When installing, I selected to install 3rd party software, however if I did the updates, it will not boot. I made sure there was no internet connection. You should do the same.

Hard drive Setup: