PDA

View Full Version : Linksys ACX111 chipset (wpc54g v2) via ndiswrapper

dmizer
June 22nd, 2006, 09:21 AM
I am officially retiring this thread.

You can make this card work by changing dapper's native acx module firmware using Kobalt's method instead of this howto. It integrates with network manager and there's not nearly as much CLI editing involved (just three lines). You can find well written directions for it here: http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=233565&highlight=wpc54g

To make this card work in any distribution after Edgy, try this link: http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=324148
I can no longer make the following method work to enable my wpc54g v2 card in Dapper.

Disclaimers:
======================================
This how to is specific to THIS card; however, it may be adapted to work on other cards. The chipset in question here is the Texas instruments ACX111 chipset. I have no experience with any other wireless cards other than the ones in my possession, so if you have a Linksys card but it does not have an ACX111 chipset, I will not likely be able to assist you. Furthermore, most cards containing this chipset seem to work "out of the box".

I have not tested, nor will I be able to test WEP as I am using a wireless HUB without encryption capabilities. Brickferd has tested and successfuly enabled encryption using this method. Directions appear at the end of this thread as well as in post number 23 (http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=1315230&postcount=23).

Also note, most of this has been pulled from an existing thread here: http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=5645 so if what follows doesn't help you, you may find your answer there.

I have foccused on CLI interface instructions to allow this method to work in any of the winodow managers supported in the Ubuntu line (mine happened to be icewm).
======================================

First of all, you're going to need ndiswrapper installed: