PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to install ubuntu 12 using a USB

gotchanisa
July 4th, 2012, 07:05 AM
I checked existing threads and there's nothing that helped. I'm trying to install ubuntu 12 on a PC. The PC is a P4 with 1 Gb ram. I created a live usb installer and then tried it on my regular PC. it worked fine. But when inserted in the P4, it just comes up to a blank screen with a blinking cursor.

My CD drive is bust and that is the reason I have to install with a USB.

I then removed the hard disk from the P4 and inserted it in my regular pc. I disconnected the hard drive that I'm using so the only connected hard drive is from the P4. I then go ahead with the install and it successfully installs the Ubuntu OS with the same USB stick.

However on switching back the hard drives, I am stuck on the UBUNTU splash screen that has those 5 dots that perpetually move and nothing happens after that.

I'm a noob when it comes to Ubuntu... so please be gentle:p

P.S. I tried changing the hard drive and also made an XP USB installer just to check if it will load XP. But the same result there too. Black screen with a blinking hyphen. Help!!

dino99
July 4th, 2012, 08:00 AM
thats let me thinking about an acpi issue; what happen if you boot with noacpi on the boot line (edit the boot line into grub menu, and insert noacpi & remove splash, that way you will see the boot comments)

by the way, you should find usefull warnings/errors logged into .xsession-errors

gotchanisa
July 4th, 2012, 08:44 AM
thats let me thinking about an acpi issue; what happen if you boot with noacpi on the boot line (edit the boot line into grub menu, and insert noacpi & remove splash, that way you will see the boot comments)

by the way, you should find usefull warnings/errors logged into .xsession-errors

Thanks Dino... but can you give me detailed instructions or point me to a link. I don't understand anything of what you just said :(

Quackers
July 4th, 2012, 09:17 AM