PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Forcing a Resolution



am0nrahx
July 3rd, 2012, 01:17 AM
Running Ubuntu 12.04 on an Acer Aspire x1200. Video chipset is an onboard NVIDIA GeForce 9200. I've looked everywhere on the web to figure out how to force it to run at 1366x768, which is the native for the Emerson LCD it's hooked up to. It doesn't detect it on it's own.

It's dual booted with Windows 7 and it detects the correct resolution in Windows, so the GPU is capable of the resolution.

I know it can be done, because I did it before, but for the life of me, I can't remember or figure out how.

Any help is appreciated!

sudodus
July 3rd, 2012, 01:20 AM
Try with
xrandr and post the output of that command

am0nrahx
July 3rd, 2012, 01:27 AM
This is what I got.

xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 175, current 1280 x 720, maximum 1280 x 720
default connected 1280x720+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1280x720 50.0 51.0*
960x600 52.0
960x540 53.0
840x525 54.0 55.0 56.0
832x624 57.0
800x600 58.0 59.0 60.0 61.0 62.0 63.0 64.0
800x512 65.0
720x480 66.0 67.0
720x450 68.0
720x400 69.0
700x525 70.0 71.0 72.0 73.0
680x384 74.0 75.0
640x512 76.0 77.0 78.0
640x480 79.0 80.0 81.0 82.0 83.0 84.0 85.0
640x400 86.0
640x350 87.0
576x432 88.0 89.0 90.0 91.0 92.0 93.0 94.0
512x384 95.0 96.0 97.0 98.0 99.0
416x312 100.0
400x300 101.0 102.0 103.0 104.0 105.0
360x200 106.0
320x240 107.0 108.0 109.0 110.0
320x200 111.0
320x175 112.0

sudodus
July 3rd, 2012, 01:35 AM
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 175, current 1280 x 720, maximum 1280 x 720
is close to 1366x768, but not quite there. What graphics driver are you using?
- nouveau (the default built in driver), or
- a built-in proprietary driver (via jockey-gtk) or
- a proprietary driver downloaded from nvidia's web page?

You might need to test more than one of those from nvidia's web page.

am0nrahx
July 4th, 2012, 12:42 AM
Well, here's the deal. I updated to the linux drivers from the nvidia site and now it won't boot.

Not really that familiar with Ubuntu in console mode, how do I revert back so I can get it to boot? Otherwise, I'm just going to reinstall and start over lol.

am0nrahx
July 4th, 2012, 08:10 AM
Ok, so I just went ahead and reinstalled Ubuntu 12.04. I had it dual booted with Windows, and I didn't really see the point as it's just a media rig and it doesn't need BluRay/HDCP support. So we can safely say it's running the default built-in driver at this point.