PDA

View Full Version : GRUB loader not displaying windows 7

SYNech0
July 2nd, 2012, 09:34 PM
Hi Ubuntu Forums I am relatively new to linux, i have a decent amount of programming experience and knowledge of tcp/ip, so i decided it would be a good idea to install backtrack 5 r2 on my spare hdd. I had played around a little with ubuntu before and inseeing backtrack is based off a version of ubuntu i thought that i wouldn't have any problems. After installing backtrack on my second hdd and rebooting i was met with a blank screen and flashing cursor. I trawled the forums to find a solution. I tried multiple things to try and fix it. The latest attempt at fixing it was to run boot disk repairer off a usb. After doing this Windows 7 has disappeared from my grub loader all together. I have to 500gb hdd's and i know that my windows data is still intact because i can access the drive from backtrack. I am running windows 7 64bit and backtrack 5 r2 64bit. I have attempted to alter the 40_custom file in /etc/grub.d/ however i either did something wrong or that didn't work. Here is what i get when i type fdisk -l: root@bt:~# fdisk -l Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes 255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes Disk identifier: 0x00062cbd Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System /dev/sda1 * 1 13 102400 7 HPFS/NTFS Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary. /dev/sda2 13 60802 488282112 7 HPFS/NTFS Disk /dev/sdb: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes 255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes Disk identifier: 0x000c92fe Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System /dev/sdb1 1 58578 470524928 83 Linux /dev/sdb2 58578 60802 17859585 5 Extended /dev/sdb5 58578 60802 17859584 82 Linu