PDA

View Full Version : C

Lymphocyte
July 2nd, 2012, 07:47 PM
Hi,

I am starting to learn C! How long do you think it will take to get a good knowledge on it? I already know Visual Basic.net (LOL). Do you think i will get confused with the syntax of c and VB.net like when doing if statements?

in VB.net if statements go

if thisvariable = 393 then
destory Microsoft!

else
Destroy Windows

end if

AnotherMuggle
July 2nd, 2012, 08:19 PM
Everybody's ability to learn is different. If you are a strong programmer in any language you shouldn't have much trouble learning a new language.

I am primarily a C++ programmer but I can easily adapt and understand other languages.

With google at your disposal (and preferably some good books) you won't have a hard time with C (or C++).

Tony Flury
July 2nd, 2012, 09:44 PM
The biggest issue wont be the syntax changes, it will be the different approach you need to take. With C you need to do a lot more basic stuff - like worry about if your variables are big enough, allocating memory (and freeing it) etc.

AnotherMuggle
July 2nd, 2012, 09:56 PM
The biggest issue wont be the syntax changes, it will be the different approach you need to take. With C you need to do a lot more basic stuff - like worry about if your variables are big enough, allocating memory (and freeing it) etc.

This is true. I think that learning C gives you a better understanding of what is going on behind the scenes in other, higher level languages.

CptPicard
July 2nd, 2012, 10:08 PM
This is true. I think that learning C gives you a better understanding of what is going on behind the scenes in other, higher level languages.

And on the other hand, C gives you no idea as to what is conceptually possible in the more high-level languages. Most of the C-programmers that claim that they have some sort of deeper understanding of the underlying functioning of higher-level languages, don't actually understand what the higher-level languages stand for, and why.