PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 12.04 ufw vs iptables?

matthys
July 1st, 2012, 10:50 AM
Hello everyone,

After many years of using Gentoo I made the decision to move to Ubuntu Server.

However I have a question what to use as firewall. The documentation said it moved from iptables to the more easier configurable ufw. On my Gentoo machine I used iptables, which automatic load and saves the iptables. I know that with some modifications you can do this in Ubuntu as well. The major question I have is; does ufw do the same, keep iptables as it is? I asked this as I create a customized block chain which I want to keep, also after reboot etc.

Also, should I stay stick to iptables or move to ufw? As documentations seems to be focus on ufw...

Thanks,
Matthijs

darkod
July 1st, 2012, 11:22 AM
I would say stick with iptables especially since you are already familiar with it.

I recently needed to do a firewall project, and being total beginner in both iptables and ufw I did it with ufw as it looked (and sounded) easier. Only towards the end I realized the iptables would have been much better and works more efficiently.

You would probably load them using /etc/network/interfaces and something like:
pre-up iptables-restore < /path/iptables-file

PS. One example:
http://www.linode.com/wiki/index.php/Configuring_IPtables_on_ubuntu_server

Blackbird_13
July 1st, 2012, 11:40 AM
I use, and have not had any problems with, iptables-persistent which is referenced on
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/IptablesHowTo#Solution_.233_iptables-persistent

darkod
July 1st, 2012, 11:43 AM
I use, and have not had any problems with, iptables-persistent which is referenced on
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/IptablesHowTo#Solution_.233_iptables-persistent