PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] The package system is broken

Evocashious
June 29th, 2012, 08:43 PM
I'm completely new to Linux. I have just installed 11.10 If I'm correct. I would have liked to have my 10.10 because my friend said it was good, but it kept crashing for some reason. Anyways, I just got it installed and most things run okay. But when I tried to install updates and what not I get a popup saying

The package system is broken

Check if you are using third party repositories. If so disable them, since they are a common source of problems.
Furthermore run the following command in a Terminal: apt-get install -f The following packages have unmet dependencies:

libc6-dev: Depends: libc6 (= 2.13-20ubuntu5) but 2.13-20ubuntu5 is installed
Depends: libc-dev-bin (= 2.13-20ubuntu5) but 2.13-20ubuntu5.1 is installed

I tried the Terminal command and got this.

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
libc-bin libc6 libc6-dev
Suggested packages:
glibc-doc
The following packages will be upgraded:
libc-bin libc6 libc6-dev
3 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 125 not upgraded.
Need to get 0 B/9,771 kB of archives.
After this operation, 28.7 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? Y
Preconfiguring packages ...
(Reading database ... 125595 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to replace libc6-dev 2.13-20ubuntu5 (using .../libc6-dev_2.13-20ubuntu5.1_i386.deb) ...
Unpacking replacement libc6-dev ...
dpkg-deb (subprocess): failed to read on buffer copy for failed to write to pipe in copy: Input/output error
dpkg-deb: error: subprocess paste returned error exit status 2
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/libc6-dev_2.13-20ubuntu5.1_i386.deb (--unpack):
short read on buffer copy for backend dpkg-deb during `./usr/include/i386-linux-gnu/bits/confname.h'