PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help in Ubuntu 9.04

edmund085
June 29th, 2012, 10:12 AM
I have recently installed Ubuntu 9.04 in this computer. I am new to Ubuntu since I am a Windows User. The reason why I changed to Ubuntu is because our instructor is using Ubuntu for Netowrk and Communiations. I chosed this specific Version of Ubuntu is because of my hardware specs. It is only Pentium IV, memory is 512 and the Video card is 256. Unless if you can reccomend me a version which is supported by my COmputer or latest, it will be fine by me. My problem is that I cannot install google chrome nor update the files in this OS. I always get an error "Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: libasound2 (>> 1.0.22)". So, I wanna ask if there is a solution for this, or what browser do I ned in order for me to use a flash player.

coffeecat
June 29th, 2012, 10:26 AM
Ubuntu 9.04 is obsolete and has been unsupported for about 18 months now - no updates, no security patches. That is why you are getting the error message.

Please post full details of your graphics card - the chipset is the important piece of information - and people will be able to recommend a more up-to-date version of Ubuntu or another Linux distro that you could use. I don't see the Pentium 4 CPU being a particular problem, but 512 MB RAM is marginal for the standard gnome/Unity desktop that comes with Ubuntu; a lighter desktop such as comes with Lubuntu may be suitable. But an older graphics card is often a limiting factor and we need to know this.

black veils
June 29th, 2012, 11:26 AM
you should try Xubuntu 12.04 first, if it is too slow, try a tweak of Swappiness, if still too slow, then use Lubuntu 12.04, that should be good. i think 512ram can be worked with, given the right operating system etc.

if you have a problem with the appearance, the panels, window borders and wallpaper can be changed.

and use lighter alternatives for some of your applications, like email and office software.