PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Why does Transmission-gtk lose data all the time

Acharn
June 20th, 2012, 10:57 AM
I wasn't sure which forum to use, this or the Absolute Beginner's forum, but I decided to try this one first. I've been using the Transmission fit-torrent program since last year. I'm pretty much satisfied with it, it seems reasonably fast and it's easy to add torrents. The thing is, I've noticed that every few days torrents which I thought were completely downloaded suddenly appear in the "Paused" section. Often they suddenly show up in the "Errors" section, either with "Bad file descriptor" or "Verify local data." Where they were complete, now they show only 87% or 99% complete. It seems to happen to about 20% of the torrents I downloaded.

So I was wondering, is this a regular occurrence with Transmission? Is this a feature? Or should I be reporting a bug? It generally just requires clicking on "Verity local data" or starting the download over, but it's annoying.

3Miro
June 20th, 2012, 12:48 PM
I have never seen this behavior. What is your HDD arrangement, there may be an issue with storing the files to the partition that you are using due to the filesystem problem or mechanical problem with the HDD.

Acharn
June 21st, 2012, 02:59 AM
Well, let's see. Here's the output from 'df -h':

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda2 24G 6.2G 16G 28% /
udev 491M 4.0K 491M 1% /dev
tmpfs 201M 884K 200M 1% /run
none 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
none 501M 160K 501M 1% /run/shm
/dev/sda3 438G 77G 339G 19% /home

There's also a 5GB swap file in sda1. I save all torrents to various directories in /home, on sda3.