PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Reinstall Ubuntu so it clears disk space?

lpbryan
June 14th, 2012, 11:48 PM
Note: I wasn't sure if I should post this here or in Absolute Beginner talk, because beginner I am... please keep that in mind! :)

I have a little Acer AspireOne netbook that has a hard drive of a mere 8GB. A year and a half ago I wiped out Windows and installed Ubuntu, and it was fine - there was still plenty of space.
The other day I went to upgrade, and it told me I had enough free space to do so, but then about 3/4 through the process it told me it couldn't finish because there was not enough space.

Disk usage analysis tells me 6GB are used up and only 2GB free. I can't figure out why this is, because I've already deleted all the files I ever saved to the thing (not many, since I rely on an external), I've removed lots of applications, cleared the cache from Firefox, and used Computer Janitor to deal with the files I know nothing about. All this and still only 2GB! I can't imagine Ubuntu itself takes up 6GB... does it?

When I wanted to upgrade to Ubuntu 11 I created a USB boot disk and reinstalled the whole system, thinking it would delete whatever was there and free up space... but it didn't.

SO... can someone tell me how I can install Ubuntu 12.04 so it clears up more space? I have no other OS installed on the machine, only Ubuntu.

THANK YOU!!

critin
June 15th, 2012, 06:08 AM
Upgrading adds packages, takes away some and adds others. If you have backed-up everything you want and don't mind adding things you have installed, I would advise installing fresh. Install it right over the current version, (which works fine for me) or formatting the disk which takes everything off and installing.
I don't upgrade because the disk can collect a lot a stuff over time--I install fresh every time.

With 8 GB there's not much room for extras, and the system needs extra room to run its programs.

darkod
June 15th, 2012, 12:17 PM