PDA

View Full Version : [xfce] Loss of connection after upgrade to 12.04



mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 05:52 PM
Hi there,
After upgrading to 12.04, and after 1st reboot, I discovered that there is no connection with outside from my home network.
My home network works.
Here is ifconfig answer:


root@box:~# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:b0:d0:ed:b7:e9
inet adr:192.168.1.5 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
adr inet6: 2a01:e35:398d:4c00:fc9d:5169:41ec:22e1/64 Scope:Global
adr inet6: 2a01:e35:398d:4c00:2b0:d0ff:feed:b7e9/64 Scope:Global
adr inet6: fe80::2b0:d0ff:feed:b7e9/64 Scope:Lien
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Packets reçus:106 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:153 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
Octets reçus:27036 (27.0 KB) Octets transmis:25779 (25.7 KB)
Interruption:10 Adresse de base:0xc400

lo Link encap:Boucle locale
inet adr:127.0.0.1 Masque:255.0.0.0
adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
Packets reçus:1799 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1799 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
Octets reçus:594446 (594.4 KB) Octets transmis:594446 (594.4 KB)


Any advise is welcome, thank you.

sanderj
June 10th, 2012, 07:18 PM
Your ifconfig looks. And you have IPv6 ... cool!

Post the output of these commands:

ip route show
mtr -nrc2 8.8.8.8

mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 09:00 PM
Hi,

Here is the result:


root@box:~# ip route show
default via 192.168.1.50 dev eth0 metric 100
169.254.0.0/16 dev eth0 scope link metric 1000
192.168.1.0/24 dev eth0 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.5
root@box:~# mtr -nrc2 8.8.8.8
HOST: box Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
1.|-- 192.168.1.50 0.0% 2 0.8 2.5 0.8 4.3 2.5
2.|-- 83.152.212.254 0.0% 2 21.7 21.9 21.7 22.2 0.3
3.|-- 213.228.30.254 50.0% 2 21.5 21.5 21.5 21.5 0.0
4.|-- 212.27.50.17 0.0% 2 22.0 22.7 22.0 23.5 1.1
5.|-- 212.27.50.29 0.0% 2 22.7 23.0 22.7 23.4 0.5
6.|-- 149.6.165.217 0.0% 2 23.8 23.6 23.5 23.8 0.2
7.|-- 130.117.1.221 0.0% 2 23.8 23.2 22.6 23.8 0.8
8.|-- 130.117.50.17 0.0% 2 32.2 32.2 32.2 32.2 0.0
9.|-- 154.54.57.178 0.0% 2 32.3 32.7 32.3 33.2 0.6
10.|-- 154.54.61.214 0.0% 2 32.3 32.7 32.3 33.0 0.5
11.|-- 149.6.146.30 0.0% 2 173.2 143.6 114.0 173.2 41.9
12.|-- 209.85.255.84 0.0% 2 31.3 63.8 31.3 96.4 46.0
13.|-- 209.85.253.92 0.0% 2 32.4 32.4 32.4 32.5 0.1
14.|-- 209.85.243.33 0.0% 2 39.0 38.5 38.1 39.0 0.6
| `|-- 209.85.240.28
15.|-- 216.239.49.28 0.0% 2 42.6 42.3 41.9 42.6 0.5
| `|-- 216.239.49.36
16.|-- 209.85.255.126 0.0% 2 46.2 44.5 42.8 46.2 2.4
17.|-- 8.8.8.8 0.0% 2 42.5 42.8 42.5 43.0 0.3

sanderj
June 10th, 2012, 09:03 PM
That looks good.

How about:

mtr -rc2 8.8.8.8
time host www.google.com
wget -O/dev/null ftp://ftp.xs4all.nl/pub/test/3mb.bin

mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 09:08 PM
For this one it took time:

root@box:~# mtr -rc2 8.8.8.8
HOST: box Loss% Snt Last Avg Best Wrst StDev
1.|-- freebox 0.0% 2 0.8 0.8 0.8 0.8 0.0
2.|-- 83.152.212.254 0.0% 2 21.1 21.6 21.1 22.1 0.7
3.|-- 213.228.30.254 0.0% 2 22.8 23.4 22.8 24.0 0.8
4.|-- 212.27.50.17 0.0% 2 23.1 22.7 22.3 23.1 0.6
5.|-- 212.27.50.29 0.0% 2 22.2 22.7 22.2 23.2 0.7
6.|-- 149.6.165.217 0.0% 2 23.0 23.2 23.0 23.4 0.3
7.|-- 130.117.1.221 0.0% 2 24.1 23.3 22.6 24.1 1.1
8.|-- 130.117.50.17 0.0% 2 32.4 32.6 32.4 32.7 0.2
9.|-- 154.54.57.178 0.0% 2 30.8 31.8 30.8 32.9 1.5
10.|-- 154.54.61.214 0.0% 2 31.4 32.2 31.4 33.0 1.1
11.|-- 149.6.146.30 0.0% 2 116.7 118.6 116.7 120.5 2.7
12.|-- 209.85.255.84 0.0% 2 32.3 36.5 32.3 40.7 5.9
13.|-- 209.85.253.196 0.0% 2 31.6 34.9 31.6 38.3 4.8
14.|-- 209.85.240.28 0.0% 2 39.6 39.3 39.0 39.6 0.4
15.|-- 216.239.49.36 0.0% 2 42.7 42.8 42.7 42.9 0.1
16.|-- 209.85.255.126 0.0% 2 53.2 49.5 45.8 53.2 5.2
17.|-- 8.8.8.8 0.0% 2 41.7 42.5 41.7 43.3 1.1


The second one too

root@box:~# time host www.google.com
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

real 0m12.222s
user 0m0.004s
sys 0m0.036s


The last one doesn't work

root@box:~# wget -O/dev/null ftp://ftp.xs4all.nl/pub/test/3mb.bin
--2012-06-10 22:08:02-- ftp://ftp.xs4all.nl/pub/test/3mb.bin
=> «/dev/null»
Résolution de ftp.xs4all.nl (ftp.xs4all.nl)... échec: Nom ou service inconnu.
wget : impossible de résoudre l'adresse de l'hôte «ftp.xs4all.nl»

sanderj
June 10th, 2012, 09:14 PM
Easy: you have no (working) nameserver defined.

Now the difficult part: since 12.04 the nameserver setup has changed, and I'm not sure about the setup. So let's discover it ...

What's the output of:

cat /etc/resolv.conf
host www.google.com localhost
host www.google.com 8.8.8.8

mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 09:18 PM
Something connected to DNS servers??

Results:


root@box:~# cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8)
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN


root@box:~# host www.google.com localhost
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


root@box:~# host www.google.com 8.8.8.8
Using domain server:
Name: 8.8.8.8
Address: 8.8.8.8#53
Aliases:

www.google.com is an alias for www.l.google.com.
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.99
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.106
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.103
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.105
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.147
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.104
www.l.google.com has IPv6 address 2a00:1450:4007:802::1013

sanderj
June 10th, 2012, 09:28 PM
Yup, it's your DNS.

On Ubuntu 12.04, it seems there is a namerserver locally (='localhost'). Which is not the case for your system, so that's wrong and the root cause.

However I don't know which process should be running. On my 12.04 I checked, and there is a nameserver running on port :53, but I can't find the name: not named, not bind.

Ah ... found it:


sander@R540:~$ sudo netstat -apon | grep :53 | grep -i LISTEN
tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:53 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 13828/dnsmasq off (0.00/0/0)
tcp 0 0 192.168.122.1:53 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1330/dnsmasq off (0.00/0/0)
sander@R540:~$

sander@R540:~$ which dnsmasq
/usr/sbin/dnsmasq
sander@R540:~$



Can you start "sudo dnsmasq"? If so, does "host www.google.com" work then?

mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 09:31 PM
Answer:


root@box:~# sudo dnsmasq
root@box:~# host www.google.com
Host www.google.com not found: 5(REFUSED)

mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 09:33 PM
More:


root@box:~# sudo netstat -apon | grep :53 | grep -i LISTEN
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:53 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5181/dnsmasq off (0.00/0/0)
tcp6 0 0 :::53 :::* LISTEN 5181/dnsmasq off (0.00/0/0)

sanderj
June 10th, 2012, 09:40 PM
As an ugly hack you could edit /etc/resolv.conf to contain "nameserver 8.8.8.8" (and only that). Then name resolving should work. Please test.

However, as /etc/resolv.conf itself says, the file will be overwritten after a reboot, or even earlier.

However, worth a try.

sanderj
June 10th, 2012, 09:44 PM
If the above works, this might be a solution: de-install and remove dnsmasq, and then install it again. So:

sudo apt-get install dnsmasq
sudo apt-get remove dnsmasq
sudo apt-get purge dnsmasq
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install dnsmasq

... and then reboot (just to be sure).

For more info: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Dnsmasq

mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 09:46 PM
It sounds good.


root@box:~# vi /etc/resolv.conf
root@box:~# host www.google.com
www.google.com is an alias for www.l.google.com.
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.99
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.103
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.104
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.147
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.105
www.l.google.com has address 173.194.78.106
www.l.google.com has IPv6 address 2a00:1450:4007:802::1013
root@box:~# ping google.com
PING google.com (173.194.78.139) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from wg-in-f139.1e100.net (173.194.78.139): icmp_req=1 ttl=47 time=32.5 ms
64 bytes from wg-in-f139.1e100.net (173.194.78.139): icmp_req=2 ttl=47 time=33.8 ms
64 bytes from wg-in-f139.1e100.net (173.194.78.139): icmp_req=3 ttl=47 time=33.0 ms
64 bytes from wg-in-f139.1e100.net (173.194.78.139): icmp_req=4 ttl=47 time=32.3 ms
^C
--- google.com ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 32.333/32.932/33.850/0.590 ms
root@box:~#

Just to be sure it it will stay after a reboot.
I'll try later.
If it disappears, I can probably do a copy action in init.d directory.
Not so beautiful, but if it works....

sanderj
June 10th, 2012, 09:51 PM
... a "Merci" would be nice, don't you think?

mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 09:52 PM
I don't want a dhcp server working in my station because I already have one in my router, I suppose it's not a good idea to have two servers, how to stop this one?

It seems I have another problem:


root@box:~# sudo apt-get update
Err http://extras.ubuntu.com precise InRelease

Err http://fr.archive.ubuntu.com precise InRelease

Err http://fr.archive.ubuntu.com precise-updates InRelease

Err http://security.ubuntu.com precise-security InRelease

Err http://extras.ubuntu.com precise Release.gpg
Ne parvient pas * résoudre «*extras.ubuntu.com*»
Err http://fr.archive.ubuntu.com precise Release.gpg
Ne parvient pas * résoudre «*fr.archive.ubuntu.com*»
Err http://security.ubuntu.com precise-security Release.gpg
Ne parvient pas * résoudre «*security.ubuntu.com*»
Err http://fr.archive.ubuntu.com precise-updates Release.gpg
Ne parvient pas * résoudre «*fr.archive.ubuntu.com*»
Lecture des listes de paquets... Fait
W: Impossible de récupérer http://fr.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/precise/InRelease

W: Impossible de récupérer http://fr.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/precise-updates/InRelease

W: Impossible de récupérer http://extras.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/precise/InRelease

W: Impossible de récupérer http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/precise-security/InRelease

W: Impossible de récupérer http://extras.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/precise/Release.gpg Ne parvient pas * résoudre «*extras.ubuntu.com*»

W: Impossible de récupérer http://fr.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/precise/Release.gpg Ne parvient pas * résoudre «*fr.archive.ubuntu.com*»

W: Impossible de récupérer http://fr.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/precise-updates/Release.gpg Ne parvient pas * résoudre «*fr.archive.ubuntu.com*»

W: Impossible de récupérer http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/precise-security/Release.gpg Ne parvient pas * résoudre «*security.ubuntu.com*»

W: Le téléchargement de quelques fichiers d'index a échoué, ils ont été ignorés, ou les anciens ont été utilisés * la place.

mulanee
June 10th, 2012, 09:56 PM
... a "Merci" would be nice, don't you think? Sure but you write too quickly I didn't have time :popcorn:

Well, you are very efficient and of course I thank you for your support!!

Merci beaucoup

sanderj
June 10th, 2012, 10:05 PM
BTW: your webserver is accessible via the IPv6 address you posted in the ifconfig. Is that OK with you? It's OK with me: I laughed very hard at the Bush joke and the Sarkozy joke.

mulanee
June 11th, 2012, 08:41 PM
For information, my server doesn't pick up its IP from DHCP server.
This is the reason why resolv.conf doesn't survive to a reboot.
Just need to uninstall resolvconf and add
nameserver 8.8.8.8 to /etc/resolv.conf
Thank you for having given me the first white stone.